Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Fresh as a Daisy
londonkal

Wireless Extender

Hi all,

I've been using my Virgin modem router (connects direct without a set top box) with a WIFI router (Netgear) but the signal strength isn't to good.  Any advice if I am better off adding a new router to the the set top box which is in another room or buying a a wireless extender?

Thanks for the help in advance

Khalid

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
DJ-Shadow

Re: Wireless Extender

Hello

You cannot have another connection via the settop box, as VM only provisions one internet account per address. Internet via set top box is now retired and only people previously on it will remain unless they have problems.

You would have to use a wireless extender to gain better coverage.

Mike

Please use plain text.
Superuser
paultechy

yeah you could get a wireless access point that will help increase the wireless range.. you could take a look at something like - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sUTT8wdN_VA it does work. 

also top 10 to help with wireless.

http://www.microsoft.com/athome/setup/wirelesstips.aspx

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
londonkal

Thanks guys :smileyhappy:

Paul - This really increased your signal?? I just watched the video.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
paultechy

[ Edited ]

yeah i made 1 myself ages ago, but got rid of it and just installed stronger antenna on my router, since the routers made by netgear nearly all of them the wireless antenna cant be removed/changed 

i use this - http://www.eclipsecomputers.com/product.aspx?code=NE-YAGI14DB&af=50 

and this on my laptop http://www.sourcingmap.com/edup-wireless-usb-adapter-external-antenna-ieee-80211bg-for-laptop-deskto...