Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
Wizard
A2DY
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎27-11-2011

SuperHub and Access Point

I have the VM Superhub downstairs and want to have a wired connection to my 2nd TiVO box upstairs (plus ideally to extend the wireless range)

 

I did a quick search and thought a wireless access point would do what I wanted (I bought the TP-Link TL-WA701ND) but cant for the life of me get it to work,

 

I would ideally have it set up (if possible) to be a repeater of the super hub for wireless upstairs and connect Via Ethernet to TiVO all on the same network (so both TiVos could see each other etc)

 

If not just as a ethernet to Tivo and the AP wireless to superhub,

 

Can someone plese give me some ideas on how to set this up! I hae managed to put it into "client" and "repeater" mode, and the superhub tells me it is connected but when I connect my laptop via ethernet I cant get to anything on the network, its as if its connected but the suerhub is blocking it for some reason,

Please use plain text.
Wizard
A2DY
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎27-11-2011

Re: SuperHub and Access Point

just to add...

 

The acess point is connecting to the superhub, when only the superhub wireless you I can get into the acess point GUI by going to 192.168.0.254, the router is on 192.168.0.1 both can ping to and from each other so is 100% connected ok but as soon as you try to access anything else than the superhub when connect via ethernet to the access point it just times out.

Also the acess point cannot ping or connect to anything else on the network than the superhub so it must be blocking it for some reason?

Please use plain text.
Wizard
A2DY
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎27-11-2011

Re: SuperHub and Access Point

sorry i lied the AP can ping anything on the network and get a response but cannot connect the the internet?

 

Am i missing something really easy!

Please use plain text.
Superuser
adacom
Posts: 4,937
Registered: ‎20-09-2011

Re: SuperHub and Access Point

[ Edited ]

dont know that AP - but have just done one for my daughter - it worked first time - what i did was

 

super hub set up as standard - couple of wired connections and wireless working - AP upstairs on wired connection - obviously - no order to connections into superhub - just as cables came to hand - i did not try anything clever or special - super hub has its own ssid and password - i changed them from standard - AP has its own ssid and password - so effectivly i have 2 wireless networks - just choose the strongest signal wherever they are in the house

 

simple and it works - AP was from a previous setup - i did not even power it down - just took out the old modem and router - connected the super hub - had it activated and pluggeg in AP - if you have tried that then dont know - but i think the answer is keep it simple

 

i assume you have tried a wired connection direct to the super hub - just to check there is in fact a connection to the internet

____________________

Tony
Please use plain text.
Wizard
A2DY
Posts: 105
Registered: ‎27-11-2011

Re: SuperHub and Access Point

Thanks for the reply,

I don't think I explained very well what I'm after.

Downstairs I have the superhub with 2 wired connections (and a few wireless)

Upstairs I need to make another wired connection so I planned (rather than use home plugs etc) to use the access point to connect to the wireless so the wired connection goes through that.

I have set the AP to join my wireless network which it does. Using the AP GUI (using IP 192.168.0.254) I can do a diagnostic and ping any IP (now including ones over the Internet) an it works fine. However whatever I plug into the ethernet port on the AP can't connect to anything except the AP itself and the superhub. It doesnt seem to allow any external traffic?
Please use plain text.
Superuser
adacom
Posts: 4,937
Registered: ‎20-09-2011

Re: SuperHub and Access Point

i'm confused - you hava an AP upstairs - thats all it is an AP you cannot wire into it from another computer - its just a wireless point - if you want to extend the network upstairs buy a 4 point switch to connect into the cable that is going to the AP then connect the AP to the switch and any other computers to the spare ports on the switch

 

thats if i have understood you

____________________

Tony
Please use plain text.
Specialist
Tudor
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎30-07-2010

Re: SuperHub and Access Point

What you need is something like an Edimax EW-7416APn, called a wireless router, but works in many modes.
Please use plain text.