Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
Clever-clogs
Daz6820
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎20-11-2010
Helpful Answer

Adding a USB device via Superhub?

I am on 100mb, so have superhub V2. I want to add a usb device (a Seneye from my aquarium) to the hub, via a usb to ethernet adapter. Are the ethernet ports on the hub powered?

Thanks

Daz

Please use plain text.
Forum Team
Kath_F
Posts: 4,094
Registered: ‎14-05-2013

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

Hi Daz6820, 

 

If your Superhub 2 is in normal router mode then yes, all 4 ports are on and functional. If you have it in Modem mode then the only port working will be the one labelled.

 

thanks, 


Kath
Help & Support Forum Team

Problem Solved?Fault with your service?We did warn you!
Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
Daz6820
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎20-11-2010

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

Cheers, so the live Ethernet ports on the Superhub 2 WILL provide power to an Ethernet-to-usb adapter, to power a USB device connected to it?
Please use plain text.
Superuser
ravenstar68
Posts: 5,352
Registered: ‎01-11-2009

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

Hi

 

As far as I am aware the ethernet ports on the SH2 are only equipped to deal with standard connections and do not support POE connections.

 

Also note that the Onboard USB is currently unpowered.

 

Ravenstar68

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
Daz6820
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎20-11-2010

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

[ Edited ]

So the "Super Hub 2" isn't to super, as it is unable to add any USB devices to the network.

Many thanks for the info.

Daz

Please use plain text.
Superuser
ravenstar68
Posts: 5,352
Registered: ‎01-11-2009

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

The USB is there for future expansion.  currently VM are sorting the base firmware out before adding any new features :smileyhappy:

 

Compared to the Superhub 1 the SH2 is miles better for Wireless IMHO however give me modem mode and a decent standalone router anyday. :smileytongue:

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
Daz6820
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎20-11-2010

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

[ Edited ]

The hub has no usb slot. I was going to use an Ethernet to usb adapter to add a USB Seneye fishtank monitor to the network, but it will need to pull the power from the Ethernet port on the hub, via the adapter. I cannot think of any other way of doing it without forking out on another router.

 

I also have a Samknows box on it, and it has a usb slot, but it is not active, and there is no way to enter the box's settings to alter it.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
ravenstar68
Posts: 5,352
Registered: ‎01-11-2009

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

[ Edited ]

So you have a Power over ethernet injector somewhere in your setup right?

 

Actually I think you are missing the point of an Ethernet to USB connector.  It allows you to convert a USB port on a PC into an Ethernet port - but it would draw any power it needs from the USB port on the PC not the Ethernet port.

 

Ravenstar68

 

Edit and if you have the Superhub 2 then it most definitely does have a USB slot - it's just covered with black tape as it is currently inactive.

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
Daz6820
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎20-11-2010

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

I was looking at male Ethernet to female usb adapter.
Please use plain text.
Superuser
ravenstar68
Posts: 5,352
Registered: ‎01-11-2009

Re: Adding a USB device via Superhub?

[ Edited ]

Like this one?

 

http://dynamic.focalprice.com/CA430B/USB_A_Female_to_Ethernet_RJ45_Male_Router_Adapter_Black.html?Cu...

 

That would not transfer power from the ethernet side to the USB side. rather it would draw power from a powered USB port using a standard male to male USB cable.

 

Ravenstar68

________________________________________


Only use Helpful answer if your problems been solved.

Please use plain text.