Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Joining in
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎17-07-2017
Message 1 of 8 (143 Views)

V+ replacement Samsung

My existing V+ Samsung box is faulty. I have been told a replacement will be delivered tomorrow. From the comments I've read I'm concerned I won't get a like for like exchange! Will I receive a V+ box? Is it likely to be a refurbished box? Or a new V+ Samsung box.
Reply
0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
  • 8.15K
  • 376
  • 955
Registered: ‎08-03-2010
Message 2 of 8 (133 Views)

Re: V+ replacement Samsung

Virgin haven't made a v+ since 2011
Well-informed
  • 825
  • 94
  • 195
Registered: ‎12-02-2017
Message 3 of 8 (120 Views)

Re: V+ replacement Samsung

I'm going through the same issue as you currently. It's likely the box will be replaced with a TiVo or perhaps even the V6 if you're lucky.

If you must have a V+, you can ring faults and ask them to send out an engineer. They can put on the notes that the customer wants a V+ and the engineer will try and find you one.

Whether you'll get a V+ depends on whether there's stock in your area. Don't listen to VM staff saying you can't have one because they're being switched off, that's not happening yet. It's purely because supplies of them are low.

--------------------------
TV: XL TV + Sky Sports (V6 & V+ HD)
Broadband: VIVID 100
Phone: Talk Unlimited
Virgin Media Staff
  • 1.36K
  • 13
  • 224
Registered: ‎14-12-2011
Message 4 of 8 (102 Views)

Re: V+ replacement Samsung

Hi av-115

This isn't correct. We are no longer replacing legacy boxes  (VHD, VSD, V+) like for like. If you have one of these boxes and it needs replacing due to a fault, our contact centre staff will talk through the options with you but they are unable to arrange for a V+ to be installed.

Adrian Hayes
Virgin Media
---------------------------------------------
I work for Virgin Media but I browse and post on the forums during my spare time.

Reply
0 Kudos
Well-informed
  • 825
  • 94
  • 195
Registered: ‎12-02-2017
Message 5 of 8 (91 Views)

Re: V+ replacement Samsung

Hi, Adrian_H,

This policy doesn't seem to be consistent, and this is the first time Virgin staff have confirmed this. In the last couple of weeks there have been several posters on the forum who have had replacement V+ boxes and one particular thread where the customer had 2 V+s sent out in error, so it seems to be pot luck which box will be supplied. Do you know when this policy came about?

Andrew

--------------------------
TV: XL TV + Sky Sports (V6 & V+ HD)
Broadband: VIVID 100
Phone: Talk Unlimited
Reply
0 Kudos
Virgin Media Staff
  • 1.36K
  • 13
  • 224
Registered: ‎14-12-2011
Message 6 of 8 (71 Views)

Re: V+ replacement Samsung

This has been in place for the last 2 weeks.

Thanks, Adrian
Adrian Hayes
Virgin Media
---------------------------------------------
I work for Virgin Media but I browse and post on the forums during my spare time.

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 9.98K
  • 983
  • 1.84K
Registered: ‎21-04-2010
Message 7 of 8 (68 Views)

Re: V+ replacement Samsung


av-115 wrote:

Hi, Adrian_H,

This policy doesn't seem to be consistent, and this is the first time Virgin staff have confirmed this. In the last couple of weeks there have been several posters on the forum who have had replacement V+ boxes and one particular thread where the customer had 2 V+s sent out in error, so it seems to be pot luck which box will be supplied. Do you know when this policy came about?

Andrew


It has also been mentioned by another staffer that V+ boxes can no longer entered onto VM's systems by CS staff. So once a V+ is removed from your account the only add/change option is a TiVO or V6 box.

SU1617jpeg.jpg


Cable customer since 1993. Services: FH TV, Sky Sports & Movies (2xV+), Talk Unlim Telco, VIVID 100, Virgin PAYG Mobile


 

Reply
0 Kudos
Well-informed
  • 825
  • 94
  • 195
Registered: ‎12-02-2017
Message 8 of 8 (49 Views)

Re: V+ replacement Samsung

[ Edited ]

Thanks for confirming, Adrian_H!

nodrogd,

It's also been stated in the last couple of weeks that V+ boxes should be replaced like for like, hence the confusion, but we now know this not to be the case. It's good that this policy has been put in place so there isn't a situation where there's inconsistency with regards to which replacement boxes are sent out i.e some customers getting V+, some getting TiVo.

What needs to be confirmed now is whether or not customers with a functioning V+ as an additional box can upgrade/downgrade their TV package without having to change it for a TiVo as there's conflicting information on this. There was a ridiculous thread the other day where a customer was told they would have to pay to change their multi-room V+ box to a TiVo else it would be removed from their account.

--------------------------
TV: XL TV + Sky Sports (V6 & V+ HD)
Broadband: VIVID 100
Phone: Talk Unlimited
Reply
0 Kudos