Menu
Reply
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
sabre999uk
Joining in
453 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

Hi,

I have been using the Pace box that we got when we joined NTL many moons ago, however it's got to the stage that it needs rebooting once a day otherwise it stores all the commands from the remote and executes them 5 minutes after you've put the remote down! The EPG only going upto midnight & sometimes not loading is also becoming a pain.

 

I'd like to know how much it would cost to replace the pace box with the smallest size TiVo so that I'll stand a fighting chance of being able to record all the programs my grandson wants me to while he's away on holiday.

 

Joan

0 Kudos

Helpful Answers
  • 10.11K
  • 999
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
629 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

The best people to talk to are the Retentions department. If there is anything on offer worth having, they will know about it.

 

Ring 150, & select option 4, & then 5. Ignore the bit about it being the option for leaving. They work 8 to 6 Monday to Saturday, & its a UK call centre.

SU1617jpeg.jpg


Cable customer since 1993. Services: FH TV, Sky Sports & Movies (2xV+), Talk Unlim Telco, VIVID 100, Virgin PAYG Mobile


 

0 Kudos

All Replies
  • 10.11K
  • 999
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
437 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

For a straight replacement with no change to your package, would add £5 a month to your subscription. The boxes are self-install & the kit is a one off £20 charge.

 

However, if you are prepared to change your package to one of the "Big" bundles as advertised on VM's website, then these are TiVO inclusive, & could end up being cheaper.

SU1617jpeg.jpg


Cable customer since 1993. Services: FH TV, Sky Sports & Movies (2xV+), Talk Unlim Telco, VIVID 100, Virgin PAYG Mobile


 

0 Kudos
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
sabre999uk
Joining in
423 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

Thanks,

Can I assume to carry out either option I'd have to ring Virgin and battle through the phone system? I'm currently on Phone M and TV XL so not 100% sure which would be the best option.

 

Joan

0 Kudos
  • 10.11K
  • 999
  • 1.87K
Superuser
Superuser
630 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

The best people to talk to are the Retentions department. If there is anything on offer worth having, they will know about it.

 

Ring 150, & select option 4, & then 5. Ignore the bit about it being the option for leaving. They work 8 to 6 Monday to Saturday, & its a UK call centre.

SU1617jpeg.jpg


Cable customer since 1993. Services: FH TV, Sky Sports & Movies (2xV+), Talk Unlim Telco, VIVID 100, Virgin PAYG Mobile


 

0 Kudos
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
sabre999uk
Joining in
414 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

Thanks again,

I'll give them a ring tomorrow.

 

Joan

0 Kudos
  • 7.22K
  • 280
  • 546
Forum Team
Forum Team
383 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

Hi sabre999uk,

 

Thanks for coming by, I just wanted to pop by and see how you have got on.

 

Did you get a good deal with our team?  

 

We're here to help anytime you need us, keep us posted. Smiley Happy


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
sabre999uk
Joining in
377 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

Hi,

Yes thanks, TiVo being delivered Wednesday Smiley Very Happy Now reading a PDF of the manual - I was right in thinking the TiVo is a bit more advanced than the pace box is....

 

Joan

0 Kudos
  • 7.22K
  • 280
  • 546
Forum Team
Forum Team
367 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

Excellent news Joan,

 

Yes our TiVo® has some amazing features Smiley Happy  

 

Suggestions, Wishlists, Netflix/YouTube Apps the list goes on.

 

It's great you already have the manual to familiarise yourself in advance.  If you're unsure of anything and the manual doesn't have the answer, just give us a shout here and the community will be here to help answer any questions you have.

 

It would be great to hear how you get on after the TiVo® has been installed.

 

Keep us posted. Smiley Happy


Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out


0 Kudos
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
sabre999uk
Joining in
340 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

Looks like things not going as smooth as I'd hoped! TiVo arrives Wednesday but I've turned on the tv this morning to find I've suddenly only got the channels that are available to everyone and not my usual xl channels... Under technical stuff on the pace box it says:

RF Channel 52

Total Channels 448

TS Streams 48

Total Services 448

13/07/15-04:51 (1005) #100

13/07/15-04:51 (88) Card Removed

13/07/15-04:27 (1005) #100

13/07/15-04:24 (88) Card Removed

13/07/15-04:26 (8819)

13/07/15-04:26 (1005) #108

13/07/15-04:26 (1005) #108

13/07/15-04:25 (171) CM Operational

13/07/15-04:25 (290) Last tuned channel 547

13/07/15-04:25 (18) Reboot

No-one was awake that early to remove the card.

Logging in to Virgin Media shows I'm still on XL, I've tried removing and reinserting the viewing card several times with no luck.  Any suggestions before I give them a ring?

 

Joan

0 Kudos
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
sabre999uk
Joining in
325 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacing my NTL Pace box with a TiVo

Panic over (Maybe!) I actually only had 48 channels, I've rebooted 3 times and the 3rd time seems to have returned things to normal.

 

Joan

0 Kudos