Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Tuning in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎30-05-2014
Message 1 of 13 (22,687 Views)

My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

I've had a V Box ever since we took VM but have only just installed it in the kitchen using a Devlo Powerline adaptor. After switching it on I get AP:52 and a flashing heart. Can anyone help

 

0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Superuser
  • 8.05K
  • 500
  • 2.2K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 4 of 13 (44,010 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by IanWN
‎28-08-2015 00:15

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

LOL thought not, the power line adapter thing gave it away.

 

Thats the destructions for TiVo

 

You'll need Coax between the box and an outlet point.  VM coax is different to bog standard, but your local geek store (Maplins are good) will furnish you with the required apparatus and probably some helpful advice as well.

 

Or 150 and speak to retentions, see what they can offer in the way of installation w/wout fees. Thats the official way and your best starting point.

 

 

 

 

 


See where this Helpful Answer was posted

0 Kudos

All Replies
Superuser
  • 8.05K
  • 500
  • 2.2K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 2 of 13 (22,683 Views)

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

Okay, you HAVE installed the coax cable as well, haven't you?

 

 


0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎30-05-2014
Message 3 of 13 (22,680 Views)

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

Nah. I just followed the instructions at http://store.virginmedia.com/discover/tv/ways-to-watch/multi-room-streaming/set-up.html

Where do I need to install the co-ax - between the V Box and the TV or between the incoming cable feed and the V Box?

 

I may be being incredibly stupid here so bare with me

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.05K
  • 500
  • 2.2K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 4 of 13 (44,011 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by IanWN
‎28-08-2015 00:15

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

LOL thought not, the power line adapter thing gave it away.

 

Thats the destructions for TiVo

 

You'll need Coax between the box and an outlet point.  VM coax is different to bog standard, but your local geek store (Maplins are good) will furnish you with the required apparatus and probably some helpful advice as well.

 

Or 150 and speak to retentions, see what they can offer in the way of installation w/wout fees. Thats the official way and your best starting point.

 

 

 

 

 


0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎30-05-2014
Message 5 of 13 (22,665 Views)

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

Kippies, thanks for your help. I wonder if they'll update that web page at some point Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.05K
  • 500
  • 2.2K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 6 of 13 (22,658 Views)

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

unlikely. Smiley Surprised


0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎30-05-2014
Message 7 of 13 (22,592 Views)

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

OK, so I now have the co-axil cable split off the feed to the Tivo, I've plugged it into the V Box.

The Powerline adaptar is connected as well and I still get AP:52.

 

Anyone got any ideas what I should do next. I guess I am paying for the rental of this extra box.

0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 14
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎30-05-2014
Message 8 of 13 (22,590 Views)

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

One thing I noticed from Kippie's earlier answer was that Maplin's would sell me the correct cable.

 

I got a bog standard co-ax cable from Maplin's - I did explain what it was for but perhaps I need to ask for a specific co-ax. Any thoughts/sugestions?

0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.05K
  • 500
  • 2.2K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 9 of 13 (22,587 Views)

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

Um yeah the right spec of cable would help...

 

Your probably not paying for that box, they tend to leave em when you get an upgrade.

 

I think at this point 150 is your best option

 

Smiley Wink

 

 


0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.02K
  • 423
  • 1.3K
Registered: ‎17-07-2011
Message 10 of 13 (22,573 Views)

Re: My V Box is stuck on AP:52 & flashing heart

[ Edited ]

As a minimum you need this stuff:

http://www.webro.com/coaxial/tv-satellite/hd100-cable/

 

Which needs to be terminated correctly to avoid introducing any noise back in to the system (for which you're liable for the cost of fix if it does), and you also need the correct power levels for the additional length of cable..

 

The best thing you can do is put everything back as you found it, take all the purchases back to Maplin and explain that as usual they have no idea about cable TV networks (they're fine with Sky because the only service you can screw up is your own if it goes wrong), and then ring 150 and request a box move, and while you're at it ask them to swap the V-box for a V-HD box in the process.

 

The powerline adaptors are of zero use to you in this context unless you're getting a TiVo installed.


TV: XL+SkySports V6
BB: 200Mbps SuperHub: Arris
Loc: ME10
    Please use the Search feature before starting a new thread
To thank or if you Like a post, use the Kudos +button. If it's an answer to your query, click Options.
Finally, if all else fails, take a deep breath and remember there's more to life than the internet and TV!
0 Kudos