Menu
PetePete1969
Joining in
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Additional Set Top Boxes

Hi, I've been a VM customer for 15 years at my current address a 5 years previous to that, I currently have a Tivo and V+ boxes installed and have just attempted to order an additional 2 HD boxes for additional rooms.

I have been on 3 separate phone calls to the call centre in Manila, I have explained that I do not require an engineer to install the boxes as I have installed the correct cabling myself, I'm an electrical engineer so I understand the importance of this, initially I was given an appointment for December 18th I negotiated the installation fees off of the deal but did state that a month is a long time to wait.

Further investigation of the VM website revealed that VM offer a DIY service where the boxes are dispatched via courier and installed yourself so I called back and was told (by someone in Manila) that my boxes would be delivered on Saturday, great I thought this didn't last long as 2 minutes later I received another call from Manila stating that they couldn't send the boxes by post and an engineer would now attend on 3rd December, so I've spent the last 20 minutes being talked over in typical customer services fashion.

Could someone on here clarify why this service is offered but can't be put into practice by VM's foreign call centres, I'm not paying the installation fee so that's not the reason and if their engineer doesn't like my brand of cabling he will have to replace it with his own at no extra cost just seems like a big waste of time on their part.

Thanks

Pete

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Additional Set Top Boxes

I suspect that this has happened because the Virgin Media system does not know that you have additional, suitable outlets because you installed them.