Menu
Reply
Tuning in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 1 of 15 (317 Views)

V6 but keep Tivo

I'm about to upgrade to a V6 box.

Can I keep my existing Tivo box?

I would like to use them both in my home ... would keeping the Tivo cost a monthly fee?

Thanks, in advance, if anyone can guide me on this.

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Superuser
  • 16.85K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.84K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 6 of 15 (499 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by KingerUK
‎20-03-2017 14:12

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

[ Edited ]

For current bundles any new additional outlet (whether TiVo or V6) since September last year is £7.50 a month. However the total change for older bundles may be different (could be less as well as more) as other changes may be needed when adding a TiVo or V6 box.

This is actually simpler than it was before when it used to be £6.50 when adding a V HD box or £11.50 when adding a TiVo box.

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Fibre optic
  • 563
  • 16
  • 60
Registered: ‎14-04-2011
Message 8 of 15 (470 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by KingerUK
‎20-03-2017 14:11

Re: V6 but keep Tivo


KingerUK wrote:

Thanks for your reply, yes, I did call them but my order 'didn't exist'.

I've had 2 confirmation emails that they are, indeed, going to visit to install new V6 box so, not sure why support couldn't find my order.

You are right, though, that contacting them over the phone is the best idea as I was told that, as I've been with them for over 8 years, I can get 'better prices'.

I think I'll go for 2x V6 boxes on the multi-room platform and keep the existing Tivo while I copy the recorded programmes (75% full on drive) to the new V6 that will be in the main room.  Apparently, you can transfer the contents of one box to another when using V6 technology, which is gong to be very useful.

 


You can't copy recordings from any box though you can transfer series links and wishlists from box to box.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Superuser
  • 9.96K
  • 876
  • 2.01K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 9 of 15 (468 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by KingerUK
‎20-03-2017 14:11

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

You have misunderstood.

You can't copy recordings between boxes.

You can watch recordings from one box on the TV connected to another box.

All boxes, both TiVos and V6s, must be connected to co-ax and your home network.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Superuser
  • 9.96K
  • 876
  • 2.01K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 11 of 15 (312 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by KingerUK
‎20-03-2017 14:26

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

V6 does not have to be near your Superhub.

Direct Ethernet connection is indeed the best but powerlines and strong wifi can also be used.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Superuser
  • 8.29K
  • 533
  • 1.61K
Registered: ‎01-03-2010
Message 2 of 15 (314 Views)

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

Keeping the tivo would add £5 per month to your bill, providing you're not on any discounts you may lose by changing your package






Superuser
  • 16.85K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.84K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 3 of 15 (308 Views)

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

Actually I'm sure it's £7.50 a month extra to keep the TiVo when adding the V6.
**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 8.29K
  • 533
  • 1.61K
Registered: ‎01-03-2010
Message 4 of 15 (280 Views)

Re: V6 but keep Tivo


BenMcr wrote:
Actually I'm sure it's £7.50 a month extra to keep the TiVo when adding the V6.

I thought it was £7.50 if you changed a V+ to a V6 while keeping a Tivo, but Virgins pricing is confusing 






Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 274
  • 9
  • 33
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
Message 5 of 15 (275 Views)

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

Best option is to give them a ring.

JohnD
Strangely strange but oddly normal.
Superuser
  • 16.85K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.84K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 6 of 15 (500 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by KingerUK
‎20-03-2017 14:12

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

[ Edited ]

For current bundles any new additional outlet (whether TiVo or V6) since September last year is £7.50 a month. However the total change for older bundles may be different (could be less as well as more) as other changes may be needed when adding a TiVo or V6 box.

This is actually simpler than it was before when it used to be £6.50 when adding a V HD box or £11.50 when adding a TiVo box.

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Tuning in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 7 of 15 (244 Views)

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

Thanks for your reply, yes, I did call them but my order 'didn't exist'.

I've had 2 confirmation emails that they are, indeed, going to visit to install new V6 box so, not sure why support couldn't find my order.

You are right, though, that contacting them over the phone is the best idea as I was told that, as I've been with them for over 8 years, I can get 'better prices'.

I think I'll go for 2x V6 boxes on the multi-room platform and keep the existing Tivo while I copy the recorded programmes (75% full on drive) to the new V6 that will be in the main room.  Apparently, you can transfer the contents of one box to another when using V6 technology, which is gong to be very useful.

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 563
  • 16
  • 60
Registered: ‎14-04-2011
Message 8 of 15 (471 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by KingerUK
‎20-03-2017 14:11

Re: V6 but keep Tivo


KingerUK wrote:

Thanks for your reply, yes, I did call them but my order 'didn't exist'.

I've had 2 confirmation emails that they are, indeed, going to visit to install new V6 box so, not sure why support couldn't find my order.

You are right, though, that contacting them over the phone is the best idea as I was told that, as I've been with them for over 8 years, I can get 'better prices'.

I think I'll go for 2x V6 boxes on the multi-room platform and keep the existing Tivo while I copy the recorded programmes (75% full on drive) to the new V6 that will be in the main room.  Apparently, you can transfer the contents of one box to another when using V6 technology, which is gong to be very useful.

 


You can't copy recordings from any box though you can transfer series links and wishlists from box to box.

Superuser
  • 9.96K
  • 876
  • 2.01K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 9 of 15 (469 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by KingerUK
‎20-03-2017 14:11

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

You have misunderstood.

You can't copy recordings between boxes.

You can watch recordings from one box on the TV connected to another box.

All boxes, both TiVos and V6s, must be connected to co-ax and your home network.

Tuning in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 10 of 15 (225 Views)

Re: V6 but keep Tivo

£11.50 per month for the Tivo as a multiroom.  Just called support.  I can't have 2x V6 boxes AND the Tivo as then I'd have to have all 3 charged to my account so, it's 1x V6 and 1x Tivo box, then, once all recordings have been viewed, I can swap out the Tivo for the 2nd V6.

Also, I note that the router must be next to the V6, it can't be using wi-fi, it needs Ethernet connection.  Something I didn't realise.

Reply
0 Kudos