Menu
Reply
Joining in
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎29-07-2014
Message 1 of 9 (159 Views)

V6 HDCP Issues

Hi all,

I got the V6 box last week and so far it has been nothing but a real headache.

My Setup;

TV => SONY KD55XD8577SU

Blu-Ray => SONY UBPX800B

Amp => Yamaha RX-V679

Other => Xbox One

As you would expect, I have the amp connected to the TV, then all other devices go into the amp and all the HDMI's are 2.2 with the exception of the Xbox One.

My issues so far have been;

Scenario: When the V6 was plugged into the amp (via HDMI 2.2 port)

  • The amp does not detect a signal from the V6
  • I have to 'trick' the amp into showing the signal it is receiving by first switching inputs on the amp to say, the Xbox then switch it back.
  • When watching Netflix on the TV (using the inbuilt app within the TV itself), the amp receives and sends a dodgy signal from the V6 (green flashing screen with sharded TV Guide interlaced) which then caused the TV to crash and reboot.
  • Fundamentally the V6 is unusable when using a pass through connection.

I then tried the workaround of plugging the V6 direct into the TV's HDMI port and using ARC HDMI to send the audio back to the amp from the TV.

  • On first connection, the TV randomly rebooted.
  • After several attempts, it would appear that this 'appears' to work but further testing is required to see if its stable.

Other issues;

  • If the TV is off, and the V6 box is off, I would expect the V6 box to send a signal to the TV over HDCP when it is turned on, therefore turning the TV on.  The Blu-ray player does this over HDCP.
  • The V6 box is incorrectly picking up the IR signal from the amp remote so when I press the 'Return' key on it, the V6 box shows the 'Search for shows' screen.

I will do some further testing over the next few days to see if the main setup is stable (i.e. doesn't cause my TV to reboot and the signal is picked up by the TV without further trickery).  Moving forward, the HDCP issues and IR clashing needs addressing.  Anyone else had issues with Amp remotes causing undesired behavior on the V6?

All in all, not a great first experience!  Connectivity between Audio visual devices should be taken for granted. 

Reply
0 Kudos
Dialled in
  • 83
  • 2
  • 9
Registered: ‎02-02-2014
Message 2 of 9 (144 Views)

Re: V6 HDCP Issues

Have you made your TV's HDMI port HDCP 2.2-compliant by selecting HDMI signal format and setting it to Enhanced format?

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎29-07-2014
Message 3 of 9 (138 Views)

Re: V6 HDCP Issues

It should be by default shouldn't it? Off the top of my head, its set to auto detect based on the incoming signal. The UHD Blu-Ray player and amp work fine and they are both 2.2 by default (to support 4k HDR etc.)
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎29-07-2014
Message 4 of 9 (116 Views)

Re: V6 HDCP Issues

Ok confirmed, it was already set to enhanced format so this is not the issue.
Reply
0 Kudos
Dialled in
  • 83
  • 2
  • 9
Registered: ‎02-02-2014
Message 5 of 9 (104 Views)

Re: V6 HDCP Issues

Get a replacement V6 box and report back if there are still problems.

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎29-07-2014
Message 6 of 9 (85 Views)

Re: V6 HDCP Issues

It seems stable now, hdmi direct to the tv, then using arc to take the sound back to the amp, although its still picking up the signal from the remote and not turning the tv on when you power it up.  I'll see if I can get a replacement device.  They had issues with the v6 remote when they first tried to install it, it was registering random key presses from somewhere.

Reply
0 Kudos
Dialled in
  • 83
  • 2
  • 9
Registered: ‎02-02-2014
Message 7 of 9 (77 Views)

Re: V6 HDCP Issues

HDMI ARC cannot give you HD audio. Just get another V6, you have nothing to lose.

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 19
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎10-03-2010
Message 8 of 9 (72 Views)

Re: V6 HDCP Issues

How do you all get in touch with a person to discuss this sort of issue or any other problems these days, I mean a British person?

Reply
0 Kudos
Dialled in
  • 83
  • 2
  • 9
Registered: ‎02-02-2014
Message 9 of 9 (45 Views)

Re: V6 HDCP Issues

I do not believe that the VM call centre agents are trained in HDCP issues. You need to educate yourself. You can participate in other forums as well, such as avforums and Cable forum.

Reply
0 Kudos