Menu
Reply
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
CarlH2010
Joining in
242 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

V6 Connectivity

Hi - just wondered why the new v6 box connects via Ethernet AND coax? Can it operate just from an Ethernet connection?
0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 606
  • 16
  • 63
shawty1984
Fibre optic
320 Views
Message 12 of 17
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: V6 Connectivity


CarlH2010 wrote:
Thanks all.
So if the co-ax is for on demand, could a second v6 box be hooked up to Ethernet only and still receive and record normal tv channels?

Coaxial is for the TV. So no. All V6 boxes need a coaxial connection to receive TV. The V6 box needs a network connection to dial back to Virgin otherwise after a while it will stop working. The network connection is also used for apps and on demand services as well as connecting two V6 boxes. 


All Replies
  • 1.21K
  • 90
  • 228
stevedh2
Knows their stuff
231 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity

Coax is for tv and most of the on demand stuff

Internet is for the Guide and software updates and apps including streaming apps such as iplayer

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 15.86K
  • 1.3K
  • 3.19K
Superuser
Superuser
231 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity

hiya the Ethernet port is for tvanywhere -> http://anywhere.virginmedia.com/ and no the tv need the coax connection for tv channels/on demand etc..
----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the thumbs up. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 606
  • 16
  • 63
shawty1984
Fibre optic
226 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity

Surely the on demand uses the internet connection and not the coaxial cable? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.33K
  • 921
  • 2.1K
Superuser
Superuser
218 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity

Why surely?

TiVo and V6 get their On Demand, except for BBC iPlayer, from the co-ax in the same way as previous Virgin Media set top boxes.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 606
  • 16
  • 63
shawty1984
Fibre optic
209 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity


Ernie_C wrote:

Why surely?

TiVo and V6 get their On Demand, except for BBC iPlayer, from the co-ax in the same way as previous Virgin Media set top boxes.


Because when you disconnect from the network, you lose on demand services. The TiVo had a modem built in so could have been using that. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.33K
  • 921
  • 2.1K
Superuser
Superuser
206 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity

No, TiVo did not use its modem for On Demand, except for BBC iPlayer.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 606
  • 16
  • 63
shawty1984
Fibre optic
202 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity


Ernie_C wrote:

No, TiVo did not use its modem for On Demand, except for BBC iPlayer.


Where does it state this? I don't see why it would be different to the V6 and on the V6 when your network goes down then you lose on demand services. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 20
  • 0
  • 0
CarlH2010
Joining in
198 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity

Thanks all.
So if the co-ax is for on demand, could a second v6 box be hooked up to Ethernet only and still receive and record normal tv channels?
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.33K
  • 921
  • 2.1K
Superuser
Superuser
193 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: V6 Connectivity


shawty1984 wrote:

Ernie_C wrote:

No, TiVo did not use its modem for On Demand, except for BBC iPlayer.


Where does it state this? I don't see why it would be different to the V6 and on the V6 when your network goes down then you lose on demand services. 


I'm not aware of it being documented anywhere but I will find time over the weekend to experiment. I'll remove my V6's connection to my home network and try to use On Demand. I'll report back.

0 Kudos
Reply