Menu
Reply
Highlighted
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 1 of 8 (237 Views)

No Netflix UHD

So, I have a Samsung 4K tv and via the Samsung Netflix app, I can view UHD programming.

Viewing Netflix via the TiVo v6 box, whilst I can get into Netflix, I cannot get any UHD programs.......

Tech support seem to have no idea ..... anybody else had this issue? Any known remedy?

i have the Tv connected direct to the V6 box on HDMI1 .....

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Superuser
  • 16.85K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.84K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 6 of 8 (371 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by marichardson535
‎19-03-2017 23:38

Re: No Netflix UHD

[ Edited ]

Sorry about that. I looked up a picture online and it seems to be HDMI 3.

It's possible that once it's on the MHL port you'll need to re-run the display setup to ensure it's outputting at the correct settings. Also, just want to check that you're using the supplied 'High Speed' HDMI cable that came with the V6?

This is a similar thread with an HU series TV and connecting to the right HDMI port was the fix http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Virgin-TV-V6/Netflix-V6-what-the/m-p/3349195#M8584

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Superuser
  • 16.85K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.84K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 2 of 8 (217 Views)

Re: No Netflix UHD

What is the model of your Samsung TV?
**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 3 of 8 (208 Views)

Re: No Netflix UHD

UE55HU8500TXXU

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 16.85K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.84K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 4 of 8 (202 Views)

Re: No Netflix UHD

[ Edited ]

I thought so.

Netflix 4K on the V6 only works via HDMI ports that support HDCP 2.2. On your TV that's HDMI 3 (MHL) only. Newer 4K TVs tend to support HDCP 2.2 on all the HDMI ports.

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 5 of 8 (192 Views)

Re: No Netflix UHD

If only! The HDMI cable was in the socket market STB (HDMI1), so moved it to HDMI 3 - made no difference. I then noticed that HDMI 4 was marked MHL, so moved to that one and again, no difference ......

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 16.85K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.84K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 6 of 8 (372 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by marichardson535
‎19-03-2017 23:38

Re: No Netflix UHD

[ Edited ]

Sorry about that. I looked up a picture online and it seems to be HDMI 3.

It's possible that once it's on the MHL port you'll need to re-run the display setup to ensure it's outputting at the correct settings. Also, just want to check that you're using the supplied 'High Speed' HDMI cable that came with the V6?

This is a similar thread with an HU series TV and connecting to the right HDMI port was the fix http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Virgin-TV-V6/Netflix-V6-what-the/m-p/3349195#M8584

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Joining in
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 7 of 8 (184 Views)

Re: No Netflix UHD

Well sir, you are a genius. The correct port was the one marked MHL as you suggested - but the trick was then to power down the box and reboot. I now have UHD through TiVo.. many thanks indeed.
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 16.85K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.84K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 8 of 8 (180 Views)

Re: No Netflix UHD

Glad it's all working Smiley Happy

Shall add a reboot to my suggested steps for the next person that has this issue with TVs that only support 4K on certain ports.
**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Reply
0 Kudos