Menu
Reply
  • 123
  • 0
  • 4
robigouk
Dialled in
1,672 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

1080p pass-thru?

Hi

loving my 2 x new v6 boxes however just a quick question.  On my old tivo box I had my video output to 1080i and 1080p pass thru and noticed my tv would change from 1080i to 1080p when I played netflix.

However on the new v6 box it auto detects 1080p (no pass thru) and my tv detects 1080p no matter if it's tv (which I know is really 1080i and the box must be upscaling) of netflix.

So my question is - should I have 1080p pass-thru also ticked?

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply

Helpful Answers
  • 10.68K
  • 971
  • 2.18K
Superuser
Superuser
3,199 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 1080p pass-thru?

Yes, keep both ticked so that V6 will pass through any native 1080P from Netflix and upscale any broadcast 1080i to 1080P.


All Replies
  • 10.68K
  • 971
  • 2.18K
Superuser
Superuser
3,200 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: 1080p pass-thru?

Yes, keep both ticked so that V6 will pass through any native 1080P from Netflix and upscale any broadcast 1080i to 1080P.

  • 646
  • 16
  • 70
shawty1984
Fibre optic
1,595 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p pass-thru?


Ernie_C wrote:

Yes, keep both ticked so that V6 will pass through any native 1080P from Netflix and upscale any broadcast 1080i to 1080P.


I believe most people are finding their TVs scale better than the V6 box so leaving 1080p unticked and ticking 1080i and 1080p passthrough is the best option. 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.68K
  • 971
  • 2.18K
Superuser
Superuser
1,590 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p pass-thru?


shawty1984 wrote:

Ernie_C wrote:

Yes, keep both ticked so that V6 will pass through any native 1080P from Netflix and upscale any broadcast 1080i to 1080P.


I believe most people are finding their TVs scale better than the V6 box so leaving 1080p unticked and ticking 1080i and 1080p passthrough is the best option. 


That may be true for those with a 4K TV but, given the description given by the OP, he only has a 1080P TV, for which my reply is the correct answer.

  • 646
  • 16
  • 70
shawty1984
Fibre optic
1,582 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p pass-thru?


Ernie_C wrote:

shawty1984 wrote:

Ernie_C wrote:

Yes, keep both ticked so that V6 will pass through any native 1080P from Netflix and upscale any broadcast 1080i to 1080P.


I believe most people are finding their TVs scale better than the V6 box so leaving 1080p unticked and ticking 1080i and 1080p passthrough is the best option. 


That may be true for those with a 4K TV but, given the description given by the OP, he only has a 1080P TV, for which my reply is the correct answer.


Not sure why you have brought 4k into it? Never even mentioned 4k. As I stated, it seems most people are finding their TVs are better at upscaling than the V6 box, this is no surprise especially for the likes of Samsung, LG, Sony and other mid to high end TVs. So the best option here would be to untick 1080p and keep 1080i ticked as well as 1080p passthrough. This will then let the TV handle the scaling.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 10.68K
  • 971
  • 2.18K
Superuser
Superuser
1,574 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p pass-thru?

My own experience is that the quality of the picture on my 1080P TV is noticeably better on V6 which can upscale than it was on TiVo which can't upscale. This means that the V6 is doing a better job than my TV.

This observation is confirmed on this forum by other 1080P TV owners.

For 4K TV owners, it is accepted that the TV does a better job than V6.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 646
  • 16
  • 70
shawty1984
Fibre optic
1,567 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p pass-thru?


Ernie_C wrote:

My own experience is that the quality of the picture on my 1080P TV is noticeably better on V6 which can upscale than it was on TiVo which can't upscale. This means that the V6 is doing a better job than my TV.

This observation is confirmed on this forum by other 1080P TV owners.

For 4K TV owners, it is accepted that the TV does a better job than V6.


I could be wrong but I believe the TiVo could upscale it just couldn't output at 1080p natively. 

If that's your experience then fair enough but I've seen plenty of people switch to unticking 1080p an letting the TV scale and say it's better. 

It's got nothing to do with 1080p or 4k TVs. It all depends which has the better scalers.  A 1080p TV can have a better scaler than a 4k TV. I don't believe I've seen anywhere where it's accepted that 4k TV owners are best letting the TV scale and 1080p TV owners are best letting the V6 box scale. As stated it's not dependent on what resolution your TV is but rather how good the scaler is. 

On a side note, it was only 4 weeks ago you were saying that you can't assume that all 1080p TVs can upscale. Without trying to sound to harsh, why should people follow your advice when you didn't know all TVs can scale, that's a pretty basic thing not to know. 

I'm not saying that my advice will be correct 100% of the time. But most mid to high end TVs will be better at scaling than a cable box. That goes for 1080p or 4k. It doesn't take much to test and if people find the V6 box is better then they can simply keep 1080p ticked. 

  • 1.24K
  • 93
  • 231
stevedh2
Knows their stuff
1,536 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p pass-thru?

Just to be pedantic, going from 1080i to 1080p doesn't actually involve any scaling just some deinterlacing.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 646
  • 16
  • 70
shawty1984
Fibre optic
1,487 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: 1080p pass-thru?


stevedh2 wrote:

Just to be pedantic, going from 1080i to 1080p doesn't actually involve any scaling just some deinterlacing.

 


That's true though I was just trying to simplify things. 

0 Kudos
Reply