Menu
bumblebee33
Joining in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

WiFi Buddy

Hi I'm a newbie just joined started with Virgin.  I have a Nokia Lumia phone with windows8 does anyone know how to find WiFi Buddy so I can install it?

Forum Team (Retired) Mat_H
Forum Team (Retired)
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Buddy

Hi Bumblebee33,

Welcome to the forums Smiley Happy

I'm afraid Wi-Fi buddy isn't currently available for Windows Phones. We're always looking into the possibility of adding this.

Let me know if you have any other queries.

Thanks,

Mat

Who's who? Find out more about our community members. Good folk to know

bumblebee33
Joining in
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Buddy

Thanks mat

0 Kudos
bejb
Tuning in
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: WiFi Buddy for Windows 10 phones

I wondered if there was any news on this. I use a Microsoft 640.

Virgin clearly say in big letters on their website 'Enjoy free WiFi on all our phones and SIMs' (http://store.virginmedia.com/virgin-media-mobile/our-mobile-network/free-wifi-hotspots.html)

They sell a Lumia 650 (http://store.virginmedia.com/virgin-media-mobile/pay-monthly-phones/microsoft-lumia-650-black/micros...) and on that page they highlight 'Free WiFi at 250,000+ hotspots'.

But then they make it so their free WiFi can only be accessed via an app, which they only provide for iOS and Android.

So it seems to me one of three things needs to happen:-

1. A universal wifi app for Microsoft devices (phones, tablets, laptops etc) needs to be provided.
  2. A mechanism needs to be provided to allow access to the free wifi service without needing the app.
  3. The fact that Windows devices are excluded from this service needs to be more clearly shown on the Virgin website, and probably they need to be subject to an appropriate level discount (or boost to data allowance) as they are not receiving the full service.