Menu
kev240
Joining in
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Virgin have lost my number

I moved my mobile phone provider to Virgin mobile for mine and my wifes phone. My phone has been used as a business and social phone for the last 15 years so keeping the number the same was important to me. After moving the numbers over giving the correct information to Virgin I now have my wifes number and my business number has now been deleted for good.  I am a sole trading electrician who relies on this number, as well as affecting my business I have additional costs for example business cards, van sign writing. They have admitted it was their mistake as the operator who dealt with it had bypassed an error warning on the account.

My case has gone to Virgin head office but I have already been told that there is nothing I can do as the phone number was not a business phone number.  The new contract I have taken out with them is not a business contract and they said if it was business losses could be compensated for. The person I was dealing with then offered me £30 for my trouble. Obviously I said No. Would appreciate some advice on this please. And has anyone else experienced this sort of thing?

0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Virgin have lost my number

Your phone number is your property. This is why OFCOM allows you to demand a PAC so you can keep your number when changing providers and there are very few reasons for your provider to refuse to give it.

If you are running a business on a Virgin consumer tariff, Virgin are able to take other steps to establish whether you should be paying a business tariff and whether you owe them money for using a consumer tariff for business purposes, but they are not able to hold your number for ransom.

The PAC has to be used within 30 days otherwise the number reverts to the old supplier. Have you tried contacting them to get a new PAC?

0 Kudos
kev240
Joining in
Message 3 of 13