Menu
AllyMac
Joining in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Trying to use UK mobile in Greece - can't connect to any Greek carrier?

Switched to Virgin Media from O2 in January - no problems in previous years picking up a Greek carrier as soon as we arrive. This time - nothing! Can access wifi but no calls or texting - how do I resolve this? I don't want to call a helpline in UK using someone else's phone (& I know they won't answer quickly) and when I try to access Virgin Remote Assistance live chat it doesn't load….? Any help greatly appreciated - I'm not a techie at all, a 65 year old retiree trying to stay in touch with family…Thanks!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Andydd68
On our wavelength
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Trying to use UK mobile in Greece - can't connect to any Greek carrier?

Hi. Can you let me know how you get on and on you get this resolved ? I'm having similar issues and I notice there are quite a few similar threads. They all boil down to the answer is to phone Virgin, but for many of us this simply isn't possible, Thanks Andy
0 Kudos
maths15
On our wavelength
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Have they turned  off some of the masts? Apparently Greece are having some financial difficulties!

0 Kudos
Nebula
On our wavelength
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

I'm on Virgin Media and immediately picked up carrier GR Cosmote on arrival at hotel in Greece. I'm not a techie either, but suggest switching phone off and then on again to try to resolve this and, if that doesn't work, wait for a reply from a more knowledgeable user. Good luck. 

0 Kudos
Andydd68
On our wavelength
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Did you switch on the roaming via the online settings before you went ? I'm desperate to get mine working in France and have tried everything but without success.
0 Kudos
AllyMac
Joining in
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator