Menu
gus0898uk
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

On my Hols in Thailand but no sms or mobile but have email

OK, I have just joined the forum as I am a dummy with Tech probs.

I am on my hols in Thailand and have roaming switched off on my Motorola Moto G because last year with roaming switched on I ran up a £35 bill within two days and I never even used the phone.

So I suppose I need roaming switched on but I only want bills for calls I make or recieve.

With my Moto G in Thailand I would like to see if anyone is trying to contact me by text or call. I am sure Smartcall first worked out here but that does not work now and when I try to get a new 4 number code the message disappears into cyberspace.

I am getting emails OK but I also have my laptop with me anyway, also I have a 1G Thai mobile to make calls home as required.

FWIW The Moto G is difficult to remove the battery from as there are about 14 self tapping screws and I didn't bring any screwdrivers with me. Smiley Happy    TIA

0 Kudos
Lee_B
Fibre optic
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: On my Hols in Thailand but no sms or mobile but have email

Hi Gus089UK

if you did disable the roaming service with Customer services then you would have to re-enable this for the sim to work abroad

If you Pay Monthly call +447953 967 967. Calls will cost the same as the standard call rate for the region you're in. For more information about using your phone in the European Union call +447953 967 202.

If you have SmartCall then this would be the best option if you didnt want to run up a bill. The charges are

Costs

Making a Call
£2.00 (per minute)

Recieving a Call
£1.00 (per minute)

Sending an SMS
30p

Sending an MMS
40p

Data
£5.00 (per MB)

Have I answered your question today? Mark the question as resolved if so!

Mark as helpful answer if this has helped you to show other members the resolution

Virgin Mobile Staff , However, All opinions are my own

0 Kudos
gus0898uk
On our wavelength