Menu
dannii1234
Joining in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

im new to virgin media my tivo is really slow

Can anyone help please my TiVo is really slow when trying to do anything on it my vhd box works great it just my TiVo it will take upto 1 minute to go on demand or catch up and sometimes goes really slow when changing channels or pressing tv guide on remote I have reset the TiVo 3 times and it still does the same wont be happy staying with virgin if it niot sorted soon as It really is frustrating now only been with virgin media for 3 weeks

0 Kudos
lyndaa
Joining in
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: im new to virgin media my tivo is really slow

Sadly this is normal. It's not improved in the several years that I've had it. I think regardless of which TV provider you go with, there will always be different issues. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

0 Kudos
Forum Team
Forum Team
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Hi dannii1234,

Welcome to the Community!

Sorry to hear you're having TiVo® trouble.

Here's something you can try to help speed up the TiVo® box. First, switch the box off at the mains, leave it of for a minute then switch it back on.

Once the box has booted back up, go to the Home screen. Then, on the remote control press Thumbs Down, Thumbs Up, Play, Play. You'll hear a 'ping' noise and the screen will go blank for a few seconds. Once the screen has come back on, you should notice the box speed up!

This process clears unnecessary background data from the box, much like clearing the cache on a web browser. If you feel the box start to slow down at all, you can repeat this process.

Hope this helps! Smiley Very Happy

Josh

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out

0 Kudos
jtodat
Tuning in
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator