Menu
Engineer81
Tuning in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Series Link + firmware downgrade

I believe my TiVo box has been upgraded with the above firmware, as advertised in VM's justification for their recent price hike.

However this appears to be the straw that has broken the camels back. Something has to be done about this!

I am an electronic design engineer and spend the vast majority of my time writing firmware for embedded platforms and am all too familiar with processor limitations when it comes to video processing.

VM you have made a mistake! Ever since the plum firmware was introduced the TiVo box has clearly had memory issues. You should not have to restart to clear memory! A good firmware will manage it properly in the first place.

Following my latest upgrade the remote became almost none responsive, I had to wait 20 seconds plus before the TiVo box would respond to another remote button press.

As previously advised by one of your engineers I then performed the Suggestions and Thumbs reset, which did improve things. And then did the Home>Thumbs Down>Thumbs Up>Play>Play.

Things are better and I can just about use the TiVo without wanting to throw it through the window. However Netflix is still a waste of time, I can fire up my PS3 and begin playing a movie before Netflix would have even loaded on the TiVo box.

VM you seriously need to remove the clutter from the firmware and fix the memory allocation problems OR upgrade our hardware to something that can handle the bloat.

Also I had no problem with the series link function so why did it need upgrading? You know what they say, "if it aint broke don't fix it"

Your engineers knew the firmware was at its limits yet you have made it worse, were they simply ignored.