Menu
kdbcom
Joining in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Recording in HD

HI I'm a newbie to the community

Does any know of a way to stop the VM box from recording in HD.

Since the latest update it appears that, for example I set it to record a program on say Channel 5 which is 105 it records that program from Channel 5 HD which is 150.

This is very annoying as the HD recording takes up much more disk space than the normal one & for most programs I watch HD is not necessary.

In the series links option the option to change is usually "greyed out" ie not changeable.

If I don't want HD I don't see that I should be forced to record it .

Your comments would be welcome thanks.

0 Kudos

Helpful Answers
Matt-09
Up to speed
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Recording in HD

Home -- help & settings -- settings -- recordings -- series link and recording options -- get in hd

Change this from 'if possible' to 'never'
This applies to all new recordings and series links
Bear in mind if the series is only available in HD and you have set a series link, the show will not record.
Superuser
Superuser
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Also, you can change that option in existing series links via My Shows & Recordings > Manage Series Link+ and then by choosing the Series Link+ you want to amend.
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own

All Replies
Matt-09
Up to speed
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Home -- help & settings -- settings -- recordings -- series link and recording options -- get in hd

Change this from 'if possible' to 'never'
This applies to all new recordings and series links
Bear in mind if the series is only available in HD and you have set a series link, the show will not record.
Superuser
Superuser
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer