Ask a question
Reply
Brainbox
andrewmm
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎02-02-2011

default password on superhub

Iv;e just been told by a virgin engineer that unexpectedly came to the house,

      that the user is NOT to change the user password on the super hub, 

 

and I must reset it !

 

Is this so ?

 

I thought the first line of defence was to not have default passowrds on everything ?

 

 

I can get into the superhub control panel no problem, but am reluctant to reset to the 

 

what should  I  do ?

 

Please use plain text.
Expert Opinionator
Champs
Posts: 1,351
Registered: ‎30-10-2010

Re: default password on superhub

[ Edited ]

I think the reason for this is if you are a novice user and pay the premium line to help you they will remotely connect to the hub and adjust settings for you. If the username and password is changed then they cannot do this. I maybe talking a load of copplers but im sure someone has told me this.

 

However if you dont class yourself as a novice user and are happy with your setup then change it.

 

Just to add only someone connected within your network would be able to get to the admin page anyway which requires the username and password. The main security is the wpa to stop people outside the network wirelessly connecting. If for instance this was in a shared house with tenants then you would definatly want to change it. If its your house with a couple of personal computers connected then there is no real point.

______________________________________________________________
**I am employed by Virgin Media**
**Everything I post is in my own time and my own opinion**
Please use plain text.
Brainbox
andrewmm
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎02-02-2011

Re: default password on superhub

thanks

 

well with the wifi on the superhub, and all the tunnels into it, !!

 

and be careful on your comment about outside connections, 

    the superhub has the option to allow remote access,

          if default password then your wide open with this enabled,

 

and remeber there are various tunnels in, like the port the engineers use so they don't have to know your network IP 

 

Please use plain text.
Superuser
BenMcr
Posts: 12,597
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: default password on superhub

[ Edited ]

andrewmm wrote:

thanks

 

well with the wifi on the superhub, and all the tunnels into it, !!

 

and be careful on your comment about outside connections, 

    the superhub has the option to allow remote access,

          if default password then your wide open with this enabled,

 

and remeber there are various tunnels in, like the port the engineers use so they don't have to know your network IP 

 


Remote Access to the SuperHub is disable by default. You as a customer, have to enable it.

 

The SSID and Wireless key for the SuperHubs are unique to each SuperHub. No-one can know what it is without phyiscal access to the SuperHub (even TSC don't know it as it's not recorded on the system)

 

The access to the modem that Virgin can access is restricted and cannot be used by anyone else apart from Virgin engineers

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Please use plain text.
Wizard
gregoryfenton
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎25-09-2010

Re: default password on superhub

Someone is feeding you porky pies.

 

I can confirm firsthand that the superhub has 3 separate accounts for access:

superuser : 1234

MSO : changeme
admin : changeme - your default username/password

 

The first two usernames are for VM to access your system remotely (they can do this without any change in the modem).

 

The last username is the one that you are allowed to change to whatever your heart desires - indeed every time you log onto the superhub with the default password you are prompted to change it.

 

Change it, and report the date and time of the visit so the engineer can be re-educated.

 

Re-educated. I love that word, so many meanings.

Please use plain text.
Brainbox
Guzzler
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎08-09-2009

Re: default password on superhub

On a side note ...

 

Change your SSID and password !!  WHY ???

 

Because u never know what virgin engineer copys this info to gain access to ur network and internet conection :smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 17,234
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: default password on superhub

why would they do that. it would mean they would have to be at your house. the wireless signal hardly mkaes it to the next room let alone next house.
Please use plain text.
Boffin
JockinLeeds
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎28-02-2011

Re: default password on superhub


apcyberax wrote:
the wireless signal hardly mkaes it to the next room let alone next house.

:smileyvery-happy: How true.....

I always change the SSID & Admin password as a matter of fact.

Please use plain text.