Ask a question
Reply
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
nasjav
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-06-2010

Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

I thought it was pretty appaling that brand new customers get a free Super hub on the 20Mb service where for instance I have been paying for the 50Mb for a long time but loyal customers dont get one.

 

Also I would have thought Virgin Media would have a green ethos in their company and at least try to roll out the super hubs so customers aren't wasting energy for no reason having to power two seperate units - not to mention all the cluttering wires.

 

 

Basically what im trying to say is, when can existing customers expect to see their superhub coming through the door!    :smileywink:

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
DJ-Shadow
Posts: 1,637
Registered: ‎09-03-2010

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

Hello

 

They will not replace what you have unless the modem fails, if you want to upgrade to the superhub you will have to pay for it.

 

Regards Mike

Please use plain text.
Human Answer Bank
pippincp
Posts: 3,617
Registered: ‎03-01-2010

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

It has always been the case that existing customers do not get the new equipment unless they are upgrading. With over 2 million customers can you imagine the cost?

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Please note: I have no connection with Virgin Media. All posts are my own opinion only.
Please use plain text.
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
nasjav
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-06-2010

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

But when I was on 20Mb a few years ago, I remember virgin simply offered to give me a free wireless G router - no strings attached and I was pretty chuffed with that.

 

All im saying is that not only have they done it before but they will also get back their old modems surely!

 

Plus it will only have to be for XL - 100Mb services

Please use plain text.
Superuser
BenMcr
Posts: 12,407
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

[ Edited ]

nasjav wrote:

But when I was on 20Mb a few years ago, I remember virgin simply offered to give me a free wireless G router - no strings attached and I was pretty chuffed with that.

 

All im saying is that not only have they done it before but they will also get back their old modems surely!

 

Plus it will only have to be for XL - 100Mb services


If you were offered a Wireless router with 'no strings' that certainly shouldn't have been done.

 

The policy has always been either purchase the kit if not upgrading, or get free Wireless kit in return for upgrading and then recontracting for 12 months.

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Please use plain text.
The Sorcerer’s Apprentice
nasjav
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎06-06-2010

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

I'm sure I didn't enter a longer contract.

 

It was at about 2008 when VM had a promotion on I thinks and you either phoned up or went online and entered some details like account number and they sent you one through the post for free which you set up yourself.

 

Also when I upgraded to 50Mb the engineer took it back also because I didn't really need it anymore.

 

So they could just do that again as there would be an advantage as where my equipment is situated I don't have enough plugs so if I want to use my printer I have to upload my file from my laptop to my desktop, then I have to disconnected wireless, then I have to connect my Ethernet cable back into my PC, replace the wireless adapter plug with my printer then print off and put it all back together again,

 

It's a huge nightmare!!

Please use plain text.
Superuser
BenMcr
Posts: 12,407
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?


nasjav wrote:

It was at about 2008 when VM had a promotion on I thinks and you either phoned up or went online and entered some details like account number and they sent you one through the post for free which you set up yourself.


I promise you they have never done that. If you got one for free with no upgrade or no contract then it was an error in your favour
**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Please use plain text.
Specialist
moowow
Posts: 283
Registered: ‎22-12-2010

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

whats the price for a superhub?

Please use plain text.
Captain Clued-Up
ttyrie
Posts: 938
Registered: ‎20-09-2010

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

[ Edited ]

£75 but personally I would not bother.....

 

I have one as a free replacement and they are **bleep**! They are made by Netgear so expect poor quality and performance. The SuperHub can hardly cope with 20MB so how can it work with 100MB is well beyond me. I really think Virgin should start to think about changing the manufacturer of the SuperHub to CISCO etc who offer quality well made equipment.

 

They are that bad I had to revert back to the Ambit 256 Modem which gave me no trouble at all and it actually gains an extra 300kbps, lower ping, got rid of the packet loss and now have now jitter on my connection.

 

If you are upgrading to 50MB then specifically ask for a VMDG300 Modem and supply your own router.

 

My personal opinion of this is that the Customer should have a choice of what equipment they want and not tied down to what wireless kit Virgin decide to provide you with- if you want a SuperHub then you can have one if you dont then they should provide you with a Modem and a seperate router or buy your own if you want.

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks :smileysad:

_______________________

I do not work for Virgin Media or any other TV, Broadband or Telephone company.

Virgin Media XL 20mb Broadband Latency


Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 17,009
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: Virgin Super Hub for existing customers?

 


nasjav wrote:

I'm sure I didn't enter a longer contract.

 

It was at about 2008 when VM had a promotion on I thinks and you either phoned up or went online and entered some details like account number and they sent you one through the post for free which you set up yourself.

 

Also when I upgraded to 50Mb the engineer took it back also because I didn't really need it anymore.

 

So they could just do that again as there would be an advantage as where my equipment is situated I don't have enough plugs so if I want to use my printer I have to upload my file from my laptop to my desktop, then I have to disconnected wireless, then I have to connect my Ethernet cable back into my PC, replace the wireless adapter plug with my printer then print off and put it all back together again,

 

It's a huge nightmare!!

 

 

http://247electrical.co.uk/2way-2-way-adaptor.html?SOURCE=FROOGLE

 

Great bit of kit. get one

 


Please use plain text.