Ask a question
Reply
Emerging Talent
justys1985
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎22-07-2012

Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

My not so super hub started playing up again about 3 weeks ago. Last time when it kept losing connection all the time, I changed the channel to 4 and it was perfect for months, but now changing channels doesn't seem to make any difference. The lights start flashing, the top blue light and one of the green goes off but then they are back up again. It is sometimes fine for a day, but most days this can happen every minute and it's seriously frustrating.

 

Every time I troubleshoot it, it says that my device is configured properly, but the DNS server is not responding so I am guessing the problem lays within the hub?

 

I have changed the channel selection to "auto" and it seems a BIT better. I have also moved the hub as far away from the tv as possible but the cable for it is so short, it limits where I can put it to get the best signal.

 

So overall, I can get a good connection and when it works it is flawless, can't fault it. But when the lights start flashing for no apparent reason and the top blue light goes off, it breaks up and sometimes it comes back on by itself if you give it a minute, but often a device restart or the hub reset are required. What can I do to stop the lights from flashing and going off? Do I need to contact Virgin in order to replace my super hub?

Please use plain text.
Superuser
AMWSmith
Posts: 4,281
Registered: ‎05-01-2011

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

I dont think the problem is thehub itself.

Let me explain why,

The top Blue Light indicates the Modems Connection tothe Virgin Media DOCSIS network (Blue means DOCSIS3)

If this goes out and is flashing green the modem has lost it's connection to the DOCSIS network. the light below that should be green but while top light flashing green this will not be lit as it indicates that the modem is ready and connected to the internet.

 

Could you follow the instuctions in the post marked "How to viewyour modems config pages" and post your connection stats and network logs.

Tony.
2X TiVo 500G (TV XL) 152Mb BB & Weekend Calls.
Please use plain text.
Emerging Talent
justys1985
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎22-07-2012

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

I have noticed yesterday that Virgin changed the layout of the settings page therefore I was not able to locate the Connection tab on the left hand side as it is no longer there. All I could find about the Upstream and Downstream is this:

Downstream Channels

 

Lock Status Channel ID Frequency          Modulation   Rx Power   SNR       Pre RS Errors   Post RS Errors

 

Locked        93             307000000 Hz     QAM256     5.2 dBmV   42.6 dB        4459                  2759
Locked        88             267000000 Hz     QAM256     0.1 dBm     40.6 dB        5047                  2670
Locked        89             275000000 Hz     QAM256     0.9 dBmV   40.9 dB        5662                  3300
Locked        90             283000000 Hz     QAM256     1.3 dBmV   41.4 dB        5392                  3416
Locked        91             291000000 Hz     QAM256     1.4 dBmV   41.6 dB        4706                  2773
Locked        92             299000000 Hz     QAM256     3.7 dBmV   41.9 dB        6095                  4154
Locked        94             315000000 Hz     QAM256     5.5 dBmV   42.9 dB        5147                  3199
Locked        95             323000000 Hz     QAM256     5.6 dBmV   43.1 dB        6777                  4841

 


Upstream Channels

 

Lock Status Channel ID   Frequency     Modulation   Tx Power     Mode    Channel Bandwidth   Symbol Rate

 

Locked            58         35800000 Hz    ATDMA       42.5 dBmV  16QAM      6400000          20480 Kbits/sec
Locked            57         45800000 Hz    ATDMA       42.8 dBmV  16QAM      6400000          20480 Kbits/sec
Unlocked         0           0 Hz                Unknown     0.0 dBmV    Unknown    Unknown         0 Kbits/sec
Unlocked         0           0 Hz                Unknown     0.0 dBmV    Unknown    Unknown         0 Kbits/sec

 

 

Please let me know if this is the information you need or not. Thank you for your response.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
AMWSmith
Posts: 4,281
Registered: ‎05-01-2011

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

can you also post the data found in the network log.

If you goto the Superhub and look in the top right corner there will be a button saying Router Status or stats. (DO NOT log in) and then loog for the network log page.

 

The power levels on your downstream and upstream seem to be all fine.

Tony.
2X TiVo 500G (TV XL) 152Mb BB & Weekend Calls.
Please use plain text.
Emerging Talent
justys1985
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎22-07-2012

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

I did a screenshot of my router status:

 

http://s9.postimage.org/dupz6ie27/Clipboard.jpg

Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
blairhoyle
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎11-08-2011

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

think i had a similar issue to the OP but i think its ok or the moment, do my channels look ok?

 

 

Downstream Channels Lock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Rx Power SNR Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors Locked 55 323000000 Hz QAM256 -3.6 dBmV 40.4 dB 31 0 Locked 49 291000000 Hz QAM256 -3.7 dBmV 39.4 dB 101 0 Locked 50 299000000 Hz QAM256 -3.5 dBmV 39.9 dB 95 0 Locked 53 307000000 Hz QAM256 -3.9 dBmV 39.6 dB 125 0 Locked 54 315000000 Hz QAM256 -3.7 dBmV 39.8 dB 120 0 Unlocked Unknown 0 Hz Unknown 0.0 dBmV 0.0 dB Unknown Unknown Unlocked Unknown 0 Hz Unknown 0.0 dBmV 0.0 dB Unknown Unknown Unlocked Unknown 0 Hz Unknown 0.0 dBmV 0.0 dB Unknown Unknown

Upstream Channels Lock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Tx Power Mode Channel Bandwidth Symbol Rate Locked 4 35800000 Hz ATDMA 46.3 dBmV 16QAM 6400000 20480 Kbits/sec Unlocked 0 0 Hz Unknown 0.0 dBmV Unknown Unknown 0 Kbits/sec Unlocked 0 0 Hz Unknown 0.0 dBmV Unknown Unknown 0 Kbits/sec Unlocked 0 0 Hz Unknown 0.0 dBmV Unknown Unknown 0 Kbits/sec

Please use plain text.
Emerging Talent
nw04jen
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎05-10-2011

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

I have exactly the same issues - set up a new super hub yesterday - all fine for approx an hour now blue light extinguishes and get the flashing green top light - logs show 'critical' errors

have tried using hub as a modem and sending signal via zxyel but no luck here either

 

complete instability and now not working at all - blue light on for approx 2 mins only now

 

engineer visit tomorrow - will post if solve it but past this will be suspsended my monthly DDs as I am not receiving the broadband that I am paying for - see no other solution - cannot 'tweak' hub 10 times a day for 15 minutes just to have internet access

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
Benjamin_T
Posts: 3,545
Registered: ‎23-11-2011

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

Hi justys1985,

 

The issue with your connection is the Upstream Power level.

 

I have sent you a Private Message. We'll be happy to progress things for you once we have received your reply.

I work for Virgin Media but my opinions are my Own
Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
Benjamin_T
Posts: 3,545
Registered: ‎23-11-2011

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

Hi nw04jen,

 

I have sent you a Private Message. We'll be happy to progress things for you once we have received your reply.

 

I would also advise that you do not stop the Direct Debit as this will only damage your Credit Rating.

I work for Virgin Media but my opinions are my Own
Please use plain text.
Emerging Talent
justys1985
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎22-07-2012

Re: Super Hub flashing lights & connection loss

If it's any help, I have changed the operating channel to 9 and it seems to be working very good now but it could be only temporary. Still worth a try! When I was experiencing the same issues a few months ago Virgin helpline advised me to change the channel and I changed it to 4 which worked great untill a couple of weeks ago. And Auto always connects through channel 6 for some reason which is also no good in my case.

 

Another thing you can check on your seperhub wireless settings is the security mode. Make sure it matches the security mode on your device/devices because I noticed it is automatically set to WPA Auto which is painfully slow and keeps crashing. Change it to WPA2-PSK (AES). 

 

These might just be temporary solutions that could get your internet working till the engineer comes out to fix the core problem.

Please use plain text.