Ask a question
Reply
Brainbox
BroadBandKiNG
Posts: 143
Registered: ‎18-08-2009
Helpful Answer

How Do I Open Ports On The Router?

Would like to know how to port forward on my 50 Mb Router.

 

 

Also if anyone also knows, what ports to open for the:

 

 

Xbox 360

 

PlayStation 3

 

Wii

 

 

That would be great :smileyhappy:

Beastly:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/2842130498.png

http://www.pingtest.net/result/83852921.png
Please use plain text.
Brainbox
bemusedmonkey
Posts: 112
Registered: ‎27-08-2009

Re: How Do I Open Ports On The Router?

Hi, if you are using a netgear router they all support upnp so you shouldn't need to port forward. If you still want to do it go to the netgear site and the help section for your model will tell you how to do it. It is pretty simple.

Please use plain text.
Brainbox
Rancid
Posts: 128
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: How Do I Open Ports On The Router?

>If you still want to do it go to the netgear site and the help section for your model will tell you how to do it. It is pretty simple.

 

Gotta love them helpful type's.

 

Port forwarding is function that tell the router that any incomming (from web to router) connections on a given port should be forwarded to the internal machine on a given IP address.

So for instance if you where running a web server (port 80) on a private machine with the IP address of 192.168.1.250. you would add a new port forward that said Port 80 is forwarded to IP 192.168.1.250.

 

To open ports on the WNR2000 (which is most probably the router you have with the 50MB service).

On the left hand menu scroll down to ADVANACED and then click on Port Forwarding / Port triggering.

 

Select the button for Port Fowarding.

 

you can then add a forward in two ways.

You can select one of the preconfigured services from the drop down menu (called Service Name) and then imput the correct IP address on the right hand side.

 

If the service isnt listed under the drop down menu then you can click on the button that says add custom service. You can give it a name and a start/end port TCP and/or UDP and an internal IP Address.

 

You should not need to open any specific ports for any of the games consoles.

But do make sure both port triggering and uPNP are enabled.

 

 

 

 

 


Cid.
* i do not have an MCSE and therefore my advice is not endorsed by the Lord *
Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
markyboi
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: How Do I Open Ports On The Router?

Port forwarding really depends on the game, the platform, and the router however www.portforward.com has a really helpful site on how to forward ports on many different routers/games etc.

___________________________________________________
Advanced Customer Services Advisor

Please note: The postings on this site are my own and don't necessarily represent Virgin Media's positions, strategies or opinions
Please use plain text.
ak
Bright Spark
ak
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎13-09-2009

Re: How Do I Open Ports On The Router?

hi

 

go to your router page (192.168.0.1-as example)

 

find Upnp section and make it enable this one only, and save it. this is it . you can  close the page and join online gaming.

 

but if you can not find Upnp make it manually

 

find single port forwading page (in router page) put numbers manually

 

for xbox 360 ----------------88 to 88 tcp + udp (both)

 

                                       3074 to 3074 tcp+udp (both)

 

                                          53 t0 53 tcp + udp (both)

 

                                           80 to 80 tcp + udp (both)

sometimes you should write your xbox ip number which is in xbox network setting  in the manual settins section you can copy it  from there .

 

i hope this is helpfull for you

 

thanks ak

 

Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
kwan
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎25-09-2010

Re: How Do I Open Ports On The Router?

Modem setup screen.jpg

 

Where can you forward ports with Virgin Media Modem? There aren't any UPnP section or portforward section at all when you logon to the router via http://192.168.100.1/

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Wizard
N_E_R_D
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎29-11-2009

Re: How Do I Open Ports On The Router?

192.168.100.1 is for your modem pages, you want 192.168.0.1 for your router.

Please use plain text.