Searching for something?
Making Waves
moggoly

CV6 Speed issues - unusable connection for much of the day

Hi,

Been with VM for a couple of years now on 20Mb, and 'upgraded' to 30Mb when it became available. At first it was fine, although at times a little slow, and then for a good while it was good.

But the last 3 weeks or so, and in particular this last week, my VM connection is almost unusable to me for much of the day. I work from home so having a stable internet connection is important for me. Morning time up until around lunch time is okay. Then in the afternoon it all pretty much goes downhill from there. And from 3-4pm onwards right through until after midnight - doing *anything* is impossible. Web browsing is just about possible, but you can completely forget about trying to download anything. Downloads just hang - even retrying doesn't work.

There's no way I'm hitting traffic management. I'm a software developer and know my way around a network perfectly well enough to know what's happening on my own machines. The slow down has got to be at VM's side of things.

I'm at the end of my tether with this. My missus is not happy with it, she's just got a new MacBook and can't get anything new put on it as she can't download anything. My work is occasionally suffering as I find that I can't connect to any of my works servers when I need to (I know they are working fine - it's my connection that is the problem). We use Skype for all work conversations, and even the simplest of Skype text chats are affected - messages can't get through.

So what are my options? Is there someone thaat I can talk to that can actually help me? Everytime I ring VM I end up being put through to a someone in India reading from a script, and I either never get the answer I want, or get told that there is a fault in my area and get given a number to ring for more info - which ends up putting me through to the same dept again....