Check your service statusCable National
Searching for something?
Reply
Padawan
Wongsky
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎19-04-2012

SuperHub in modem mode, wireless?

So I've been having issues with my SuperHub in recent times.

 

Have to say, when I first got it (think it was around May, this year) it was fine - rock solid in fact, even wireless. I had bought a couple of new wireless routers to use, having already read many recommending using modem mode.

 

When the R36 update got applied, I found the SuperHub would lock-up more, or become unresponsive at times when using the browser management gui. So I reluctantly followed best advice on here, which was to do a factory reset - very irritating, because backups taken from before the update, don't seem to apply after the update, and advice was to not restore, anyway - so for people who use MAC filter lists, that can be quite a lot of tedious manual typing - especially when the GUI timeout is a bit, well, snappy.

 

But I did it anyway, and for a while everything seemed OK - only the odd, occasional lock-up when using the management gui. But in recent times, I've noticed the SuperHub spontaneously rebooting, and at times becoming unresponsive to WiFi. Have to say, this isn't progress, mine, at least, was pretty damned good before R36 was applied to it.

 

So I decided to give modem mode a go again, and setup my own downstream wireless router.

 

Only thing is, ever since, whenever my devices look for WiFi networks at home, they see a virginmedia SSID (looks like it's a default SSID, because it's virginmedia and then some numbers after it. Now I can't say for sure, because it's not something I check for that often, but don't recall seeing / noticing a SSID like this before - so was curious - when in modem mode, no default WiFi is provided by the SuperHub, is it?

 

It could just be coincidence, and there's been a new virginmedia installation nearby, and they're on default settings, but just wanted to be sure this wasn't like some providers, creating some kind of public WiFi, thing?

 

Modem mode, means just pass-through emulating the previous ether modems that used to be in place, and the radio is off in modem mode?

Please use plain text.
Specialist
ForumAccount012
Posts: 262
Registered: ‎03-05-2012

Re: SuperHub in modem mode, wireless?

I would like conformation that the wireless signals are truly deactivated as well, and not just converted into some kind of bogus signal which is still emitted.

 

Please use plain text.
Emerging Talent
Maitias
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎24-03-2010

Re: SuperHub in modem mode, wireless?

Gonna sound silly. But open up your wireless window, find the Virgin SSID then turn the router off. Does it disappear?
Please use plain text.
Superuser
AMWSmith
Posts: 3,946
Registered: ‎05-01-2011

Re: SuperHub in modem mode, wireless?

If the 3rd light is off then the Radio is disabled (Holding the VM logo for 10 seconds with the SH in router mode will turn on and off the wifi) In Modem mode the Wifi is disabled and No signels are present from the SH.

The SSID you are seeing maybe from another Superhub in your area. I myself can pick up 5 of them.

The Default SSID is printed on the back of the SH so compare them with the one your seeing.

 

Also when in modem mode the VM Logo should be (Purple) Sort of mixed red and blue LEDs

Tony.
2X TiVo 500G (TV XL) 152Mb BB & Weekend Calls.
Please use plain text.
Community Lead
James_W
Posts: 2,633
Registered: ‎27-06-2012

Re: SuperHub in modem mode, wireless?

Hi Wongsky,

 

The standard Superhub SSID is, at present, 'virginmedia' followed by numbers. These will match up to that written on the Superhub configuration details.


It's not uncommon for people to leave their SSID as the default, and therefore it is not uncommon for several similar SSIDs to appear in your 'view available networks' list.

 

In the Superhub configuration pages you can turn off SSID broadcast, all wireless broadcast, or as you know, set it to Modem Mode which turns off both wireless broadcastand the other ethernet ports.

 

Kind regards,

 


James W
Community Lead - Help & Support Forum Team

Problem Solved?Fault with your service?We did warn you!
Please use plain text.
Padawan
Wongsky
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎19-04-2012

Re: SuperHub in modem mode, wireless?


James_W wrote:

Hi Wongsky,

 

The standard Superhub SSID is, at present, 'virginmedia' followed by numbers. These will match up to that written on the Superhub configuration details.


It's not uncommon for people to leave their SSID as the default, and therefore it is not uncommon for several similar SSIDs to appear in your 'view available networks' list.

 

In the Superhub configuration pages you can turn off SSID broadcast, all wireless broadcast, or as you know, set it to Modem Mode which turns off both wireless broadcastand the other ethernet ports.

 

Kind regards,

 


Well I'd already changed the SSID on my SuperHub (I'd had my own wireless settings for a while, including not broadcasting the SSID, MAC filter list, all those sorts of things) before I'd gone to modem mode.

 

I've not seen the virginmedia SSID again, in recent scans, but if I ever do again, I'll just confirm it's not the default that was on the label on the back of my SuperHub.

 

Please use plain text.