Searching for something?
Reply
Specialist
martyp
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎13-03-2010

why did my modem fail last night?

Hi VM tech support,

I awoke this morning to find I was unable to access the internet on my mobile phone (wifi) and when I checked I was able to connect to my router fine and rebooted it but couldn't access the modem at all. I had to reboot the modem to get back online. I was trying to access it around 10:40ish (when the modem shows in the logs a number of entries) and then rebooted it about 11:20.

I wasn't sure if the time in the logs were wrong or if something had happened at the time I tried to access it?

Please use plain text.
Specialist
martyp
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎13-03-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

Can anyone please reply to my query? I thought I was supposed to be able to get advice and support on here!

 

It happened again last night, I woke up this morning and couldn't connect to the modem at all, the router was fine though.

 

When pinging 192.168.100.1 it returned:

ping.JPG

Please use plain text.
Specialist
martyp
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎13-03-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

 
Please use plain text.
Dr. Yes
John_O
Posts: 5,728
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

Hi martyp,

 

You are describing a problem between your router and your modem. In order to discover where the problem lies (ie the router or the modem) I would advise you to disconnect the router altogether and connect directly to the modem via an ethernet cable then see if the problem re-occurs. If it does I would advise you to find out your IP address at this time (type ipconfig in the command prompt). Is it valid or do you now have a 169 IP address? If the problem does not re-occur it would indicate a problem with your router losing communication with the modem, in which case I would refer you to the router vendor.

Regards,

John O

Help & Support Forum Team


If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords.

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question.
Please use plain text.
Specialist
martyp
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎13-03-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

Thanks John O, I had the same issue again last night and now I have the Tivo service I noticed it affected that as well, after midnight, Youtube and other online services weren't working on the Tivo either and were still off first thing this morning around 7am.

I've rebooted the modem and router a few times again this morning. I've had issues with 3 different wireless routers now with than modem, my last modem was fine. I've only been having these issues with the new modem, the Ambit256, I didn't realise I would have to sacrifice stability of my connection in return for a 1MB up speed...

Please use plain text.
Expert Opinionator
John_Hag
Posts: 2,388
Registered: ‎16-12-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

Hi martyp,

 

I've just checked your connection and all looks fine. I also checked the CMTS to which your modem is connected and can see no reason why your connection should have dropped on the 18th (although there was a blip around 7pm on the 19th).

 

If it happens again please log in to the modem's configuration pages and post the details as described here so we can investigate further.

Regards,
John Haggerty
Help & Support Forum Team

If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords. Got a problem? Check for faults online with our new service status and fault checker

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question. Please don't send private messages directly to the forum team unless they ask you to, post your issue to the forum first.
Please use plain text.
Specialist
martyp
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎13-03-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

Hi John,

 

Do you know what all these messages mean in the modem log:

 

First TimeLast TimePriorityDescription
Wed Jul 27 20:47:32 2011 Wed Jul 27 20:47:32 2011 Information (7)Map Reject - Downstream Traffic Flow Not Mapped to BPI+ SAID ...
Wed Jul 27 20:47:31 2011 Wed Jul 27 20:47:31 2011 Information (7)SA Map State Machine Started
Wed Jul 27 19:31:32 2011 Wed Jul 27 19:31:32 2011 Information (7)Map Reject - Downstream Traffic Flow Not Mapped to BPI+ SAID ...
Wed Jul 27 19:31:31 2011 Wed Jul 27 19:31:31 2011 Information (7)SA Map State Machine Started
Wed Jul 27 19:28:17 2011 Wed Jul 27 19:28:17 2011 Information (7)Map Reject - Downstream Traffic Flow Not Mapped to BPI+ SAID ...
Wed Jul 27 19:28:16 2011 Wed Jul 27 19:28:16 2011 Information (7)SA Map State Machine Started
Wed Jul 27 17:27:27 2011 Wed Jul 27 17:27:27 2011 Information (7)Map Reject - Downstream Traffic Flow Not Mapped to BPI+ SAID ...
Wed Jul 27 17:27:26 2011 Wed Jul 27 17:27:26 2011 Information (7)SA Map State Machine Started
Wed Jul 27 17:17:00 2011 Wed Jul 27 17:17:00 2011 Information (7)Map Reject - Downstream Traffic Flow Not Mapped to BPI+ SAID ...
Wed Jul 27 17:16:59 2011 Wed Jul 27 17:16:59 2011 Information (7)SA Map State Machine Started
Wed Jul 27 17:06:32 2011 Wed Jul 27 17:06:32 2011 Information (7)Map Reject - Downstream Traffic Flow Not Mapped to BPI+ SAID ...
Wed Jul 27 17:06:31 2011 Wed Jul 27 17:06:31 2011 Information (7)SA Map State Machine Started
Wed Jul 27 16:39:31 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:39:31 2011 Information (7)Map Reject - Downstream Traffic Flow Not Mapped to BPI+ SAID ...
Wed Jul 27 16:39:30 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:39:30 2011 Information (7)SA Map State Machine Started
Wed Jul 27 16:39:28 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:39:28 2011 Information (7)Map Reject - Downstream Traffic Flow Not Mapped to BPI+ SAID ...
Wed Jul 27 16:39:27 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:39:27 2011 Information (7)SA Map State Machine Started
Wed Jul 27 16:37:43 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:43 2011 Information (7)The s/w filename specified in the config file is the same as ...
Wed Jul 27 16:37:43 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:43 2011 Information (7)A software upgrade filename was specified in the config file.
Wed Jul 27 16:37:43 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:43 2011 Information (7)Authorized
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Information (7)Registration complete!
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Information (7)We registered with a DOCSIS 1.1 config file!
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Information (7)Received a REG-RSP message from the CMTS...
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Information (7)Sending a REG-REQ to the CMTS...
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Information (7)CableModem SNMP configure complete
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Information (7)IP init completed ok
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Information (7)CableModem TFTP init ok
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Information (7)CableModem DHCP client init ok
Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Wed Jul 27 16:37:42 2011 Critical (3)DHCP WARNING - Non-critical field invalid in response.
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedInformation (7)MAP w/initial maintenance region received
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedCritical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedInformation (7)MAP w/initial maintenance region received
Time Not EstablishedTime Not EstablishedCritical (3)No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

 

 

Downstream SNR : 42.1 dB

Upstream transmit Power Level : 46.0 dBmV

Acquire a Downstream Channel 339000000 Hz Locked

Downstream Receive Power Level : 0.1 dBmV

Please use plain text.
Specialist
martyp
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎13-03-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

http://www.pingtest.net/result/44291432.png

 

Pingtest shows results are concerning...

Please use plain text.
Specialist
martyp
Posts: 223
Registered: ‎13-03-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

I just had to reboot my modem about 10 times and still it won't communicate with my router. My router is unable to pick up a WAN DHCP address from it. I never had these issues with the Webstar modem I had before.

I have a direct connection now to my laptop and still had to reboot the modem a couple of times before my laptop could pick up an IP address from it...

Also, I found ping drops when trying to access another site I use regularly. That's two sites I use regularly which are really slow to access:

 

Tracing route to www.cahoot.com [193.127.199.13]

over a maximum of 30 hops:



  1     7 ms     7 ms     7 ms  10.21.56.1

  2     8 ms     8 ms     7 ms  dudl-geam-1a-ge215.network.virginmedia.net [80.3.159.133]

  3    10 ms    11 ms    10 ms  wolv-core-1a-pc201.network.virginmedia.net [80.3.144.85]

  4     9 ms    26 ms     9 ms  manc-bb-1a-ae7-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.241]

  5    28 ms    10 ms     9 ms  manc-bb-1a-ae11-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.85]

  6    17 ms    17 ms    17 ms  brnt-bb-1b-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.86]

  7    16 ms    19 ms    16 ms  brnt-tmr-1-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.50]

  8    17 ms    15 ms    15 ms  telc-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.74]

  9    19 ms    21 ms    22 ms  LINX-fe0-0-barkley.LON.router.COLT.NET [195.66.226.49]

 10    51 ms    52 ms    51 ms  212.74.66.84

 11    50 ms    49 ms    49 ms  217.111.216.170

 12    53 ms    52 ms    54 ms  193.127.206.30

 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 14    52 ms    51 ms    52 ms  193.127.199.13



Trace complete.

 

Tracing route to corporate.t-mobile.co.uk [149.254.251.10]

over a maximum of 30 hops:



  1     8 ms     6 ms    10 ms  10.21.56.1

  2     7 ms     7 ms     7 ms  dudl-geam-1a-ge115.network.virginmedia.net [80.3.159.5]

  3    11 ms    10 ms     9 ms  wolv-core-1a-pc201.network.virginmedia.net [80.3.144.85]

  4    47 ms    65 ms    10 ms  manc-bb-1a-ae7-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.241]

  5     9 ms     9 ms     9 ms  manc-bb-1a-ae11-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.85]

  6    11 ms     9 ms    10 ms  212.187.136.125

  7    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  ae-4-4.ebr1.London1.Level3.net [4.69.133.102]

  8    21 ms    17 ms    18 ms  ae-3-3.ebr2.London2.Level3.net [4.69.141.190]

  9    17 ms    17 ms    16 ms  ge-5-2.hsa1.London2.Level3.net [4.68.117.167]

 10     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 11     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 12     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 30     *        *        *     Request timed out.



Trace complete.

 

Tracing route to dispatch.kahuna.glbdns.microsoft.com [94.245.116.13]

over a maximum of 30 hops:



  1     9 ms     7 ms     7 ms  10.21.56.1

  2     8 ms     7 ms     9 ms  dudl-geam-1a-ge114.network.virginmedia.net [80.3.159.1]

  3    11 ms    11 ms     9 ms  wolv-core-1a-pc201.network.virginmedia.net [80.3.144.85]

  4    10 ms    10 ms     9 ms  manc-bb-1a-ae7-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.241]

  5    10 ms    10 ms     9 ms  manc-bb-1b-ae6-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.89]

  6    11 ms    11 ms    12 ms  leed-bb-1a-as3-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.175.141]

  7    15 ms    15 ms    15 ms  tcl3-ic-1-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [212.43.163.198]

  8    16 ms    15 ms    15 ms  ldn-b2-link.telia.net [213.248.93.69]

  9    18 ms    18 ms    17 ms  ldn-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.250.225]

 10    18 ms    17 ms    17 ms  ldn-b1-link.telia.net [80.91.248.89]

 11    17 ms    15 ms    17 ms  microsoft-ic-128837-ldn-b1.c.telia.net [213.248.91.126]

 12    16 ms    15 ms    15 ms  ge-3-1-0-0.lts-64cb-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.42.22]

 13    23 ms    17 ms    26 ms  xe-0-0-0-0.lts-96cbe-1a.ntwk.msn.net [207.46.42.168]

 14    27 ms    27 ms    28 ms  207.46.42.190

 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.

 16    28 ms    27 ms    27 ms  origin.du104w.dub104.mail.live.com [94.245.116.13]



Trace complete.



Please use plain text.
Expert Opinionator
John_Hag
Posts: 2,388
Registered: ‎16-12-2010

Re: why did my modem fail last night?

Hi martyp,

 

The traceroute to dispatch.kahuna.glbdns.microsoft.com [94.245.116.13] is fine. The traceroute to www.cahoot.com [193.127.199.13] isn't brilliant, but all of the Virgin Media intermediate routers have times below 30ms. The traceroute to corporate.t-mobile.co.uk [149.254.251.10] is inconclusive although, again, all of the times are fine.

 

Traceroutes can be misleading. You can ignore the intermediate times and apparent packet loss if the times and packets to the final destination are acceptable - most routers are configured only to respond to ICMP ping requests when they have no data packets to handle. The traceroute to t-mobile could indicate a problem but, equally, it just may be that the routers have ignored the trace.

 

The only log entries of any consequence are the T3 timeouts. Although it's perfectly normal for there to be some recorded in the log, excessive T3 timeouts can indicate a problem with the upstream power level. I've just checked your upstream power level and it's fine.

 

As I requested earlier, if you are still experiencing difficulties then please log in to the modem's configuration pages at the time and post the details as described here so we can investigate further.

 

Regards,
John Haggerty
Help & Support Forum Team

If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords. Got a problem? Check for faults online with our new service status and fault checker

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question. Please don't send private messages directly to the forum team unless they ask you to, post your issue to the forum first.
Please use plain text.