Searching for something?
Reply
One to Watch
Techwizard
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Why is virgin fibre not in my area ??

Just a quick one I live in the Middleton area of Leeds postcode LS103UU , and have always wondered why we could not get any of the high speed services , broadband speeds in my area are appalling and you would be really luck to see 2mb . and it's not like we are way out in the sticks we actually come under the hunslet exchange which services approx. 27000 homes . Have we just been overlooked or is there something in the pipeline for our area I have spoken to few people and they would love to get the super fast fibre optic Broadband that is all the rage these days .
Please use plain text.
Specialist
Gethsemane
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎13-04-2011

Re: Why is virgin fibre not in my area ??

Cant you get high speed ADSL?

________________________________________________________________________________

 Has this post helped you out? say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star.

:smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
Techwizard
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Why is virgin fibre not in my area ??

We can get adsl but the speeds are absolutely awful and it seems like all the high speed providers have just kicked us to the curb
Please use plain text.
Specialist
Asbo_Dog
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎07-02-2011

Re: Why is virgin fibre not in my area ??

http://www.uswitch.com/broadband/speedtest/streetstats/#home_ls103uu_download_0_all_all_0_1

 

2mb is your lot in that area, campain to get VM cable in the postcode area or move your house brick by brick to more north eastly location, cant find any info on any plans to enable fttc either

 

 

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
Techwizard
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Why is virgin fibre not in my area ??

Just looking at those stats makes me want to cry , lol , if I had got any wind of the Fttc upgrades before I moved I would Have been a bit more careful with the selection of my house , is there any hope for us or is there light at the end of the tunnel and what other alternatives are available I.e. Satellite broadband for high speed access over 5meg
Please use plain text.
Specialist
Gethsemane
Posts: 172
Registered: ‎13-04-2011

Re: Why is virgin fibre not in my area ??

you could get a campaign going for both BT (to upgrade your exchange) and Virgin to implement a build plan in your area.

________________________________________________________________________________

 Has this post helped you out? say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star.

:smileyhappy:

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
Techwizard
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-07-2011

Re: Why is virgin fibre not in my area ??

@gethsemane thanks for input , how would someone go about getting the big network companies attention I seriously doubt an email from one person will even make a difference
Please use plain text.
Specialist
Asbo_Dog
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎07-02-2011

Re: Why is virgin fibre not in my area ??

hence the need for a campain to get all in your slow area that want higher speeds togther, if there is enough intrest from customers to make it profitable for the companys after they have invested in the infrastructure they will sit up and take notice.

 

How you manage to get all the voices togther i do not know but thats your best option other than waiting an waiting for them to get round to your area after they have creamed the more proftable areas all ready  fttc'ed up or being planed allready

 

sat broadband, now if you skype or game etc that needs good latency then sat would not be the best choice for you, if you just browse the web then its fine alternative, it is expensive tho with many packages having very low usage limits.

 

my cousins in vermount usa have to use sat broadband as there out in the sticks and its near impossable to have skype with them after the trip to usa then up to sattlite an back down, i have had to get use to making sure we leave at least a 2-3 second gap after talking as you tend to end talking over each other when you realise what you said previous has only just reached the other party. 

Please use plain text.