Searching for something?
Reply
Good to Know
c53204
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎14-08-2010

Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

Widely available on the web are articles that Virgin have admitted that 'problems'.

 

But VM stands by its claim that the Netgear hardware inside the Superhub is sound, but that it is “actively investigating reports of reduced performance under some configurations” and is testing possible solutions.

 

“… we expect to resolve the issue by a firmware update which will be automatically pushed out to SuperHub users as soon as a fix has been confirmed,” 

 

So what alternatives are Virginmedia looking at to resolve this. New modem (without router), or a firmware update.

 

I amongst many would prefer a modem on it's own.

Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
wolandscat
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2011

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

I had a new Virgin installation today (8 Mar 2011), and the performance of any device connected by ethernet cable to the hub is superfast - more or less 30mbps download/14ms ping, according to speedtest.net.... so their broadband network is working alright. But the wireless network .... unusable! Looking at various internet fora, it is clear that this problem is quite well known by now...

 

So I just spent 30 mins on the phone with a Virgin tech person (in India naturally;-) and she did actually give me a working fix:

1. log into the hub on a wired computer i.e. one connected via ethernet cable to the hub OR log in from your normal computer on wireless, if you can stand the pain

2. go to advanced settings

3. go to 'services' tab on the left menu

4. turn off 'firewall' and 'IPsec passthrough', apply and reboot the hub

5. log back into the network on a computer connected via wireless and start surfing.

 

The performance difference I got was about 8mbps before, and 22mbps after. The main thing was a massive improvement in latency - before a page was taking 10 sec to come up, after, maybe 0.5 sec. The tech operator said that Virgin engineers have said a firmware fix will be available within a week.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 16,593
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

also disable the packet flood detection to correct the dropped packets from pingtest.net
Please use plain text.
Good to Know
c53204
Posts: 410
Registered: ‎14-08-2010

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

Both the above fixes solve the initial speed problem new SuperHub users have. 

 

I'm simply amazed that the tech who installed my SuperHub had no idea about these problems - I only founf out via Googling.

 

But disabling the firewall and flodd detection does not fix the underlying firmware that causes the modem to lock up intermittently.

 

As Virgin say - they are working on a beta version of the firmware, but why was this not picked up on trials of the hardware? It's unbelieveable that a 'Network' company with huge resources has failed it's customers yet again.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 16,593
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

its possible that not many of them go lock up. it might be down to the way there used.

testing hardware is never as easy as working or not working.

thats why software always gets updates. rolling out millions of them is going to pick up problems. but i agree some things should of been in from the start.

modem only mode
(the firmware update should also disable flood protection)

no isp will get there hardware right first time but most don't force the one bit of kit on the user.

BT HomeHub was pants on release. i still had to replace it as there filtering dosn;t work right
Please use plain text.
Specialist
Asbo_Dog
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎07-02-2011

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

ive not had issues with mine since the 22nd feb, i dont use wireless tho and i had been on the forum before install so new about ip flood, tho today the firmware locked me out the web interface and had to reboot to get it talking to me.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
tigz22
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎16-03-2011

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

iv had problems to iv had to set my wirless on to 2.4ghz which sorted most my problems as the super hub dont work on 5ghz... this will solve alot of issues people are having.

 

Please use plain text.
Wizard
veryupset
Posts: 130
Registered: ‎19-02-2011

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

Switch back to 10 mb save money and a lot of hassle .. I have.. VERYHAPPY

I have never worked for Virgin Media ..
I work hard for my money and hate getting poor service or ripped off...
Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
delboy01
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎27-06-2011

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

I have just connected my old wireless router to the new superhub and that is working fine!!!

 

I was told its your laptop.  To which I replied what all 5 of them!!!!

 

Was also told a number of times that they don't have this problem elsewhere. 

 

I'm very close to cancelling now as its un-usable to be honest.  They need to sort this quickly or they will lose a lot of customers.

Please use plain text.
Fresh as a Daisy
delboy01
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎27-06-2011

Re: Virgin admit to Super Hub problems

As well as reducing dropouts of wireless dramatically by connecting my old wireless router to the superhub this has also doubled the upload speed using speedtest and increase the download speed from 10ish to 15mb.

 

Sorry VM its not my 5 laptops at fault its your superhub.

 

 

Please use plain text.