Ask a question
Reply
One to Watch
DugS
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎19-02-2011
Helpful Answer

Only 0.5 mbps upload speed on 10 mbps connection

Hello There,

 

I have recently had my services installed which overall I am very happy with.  However my upload speed seems to be consistently slower than my old ADSL.  On speedtest.net I always get 0.55 mbps no matter what the time of day.  I was expecting this to be about 1mbps.  Just wondering if anyone has any clues as to why this is a bit slow.

 

I'm including my tracert results and my hub settings.  As this is an upload query I have not included my download test results.

 

HUB  (This seems to be set to 512000 bps)

 

Primary Upstream Service FlowUpstream(0)SFID8421Max Traffic Rate512000 bpsMax Traffic Burst1600 bytesMix Traffic Rate0 bpsMax Concatenated Burst1522 bytesScheduling TypeBest Effort

 

 

TRACERT

 

 

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Dug>tracert bbc.co.uk
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    12 ms     7 ms     7 ms  10.9.128.1
  2     7 ms     8 ms     7 ms  aztw-geam-1b-v15.network.virginmedia.net [80.192
.0.3]
  3     7 ms     9 ms     7 ms  aztw-core-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.1
.241.13]
  4    14 ms    20 ms    10 ms  brhm-bb-1b-as1-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.10
5.175.161]
  5    12 ms    13 ms    11 ms  nrth-bb-1a-as4-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253
.185.105]
  6    11 ms    13 ms    11 ms  nrth-bb-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253
.185.118]
  7    56 ms    21 ms    11 ms  nrth-tmr-2-ae6-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.10
5.159.34]
  8    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  tele-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.
184.2]
  9    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  pos6-1.rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.237]
 10    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  212.58.238.153
 11    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  virtual-vip.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138]
Trace complete.
C:\Documents and Settings\Dug>

 

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600](C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Dug>tracert bbc.co.uk
Tracing route to bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138]over a maximum of 30 hops:
  1    12 ms     7 ms     7 ms  10.9.128.1  2     7 ms     8 ms     7 ms  aztw-geam-1b-v15.network.virginmedia.net [80.192.0.3]  3     7 ms     9 ms     7 ms  aztw-core-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [80.1.241.13]  4    14 ms    20 ms    10 ms  brhm-bb-1b-as1-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.175.161]  5    12 ms    13 ms    11 ms  nrth-bb-1a-as4-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.105]  6    11 ms    13 ms    11 ms  nrth-bb-1b-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.185.118]  7    56 ms    21 ms    11 ms  nrth-tmr-2-ae6-0.network.virginmedia.net [213.105.159.34]  8    16 ms    16 ms    16 ms  tele-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net [62.253.184.2]  9    15 ms    14 ms    14 ms  pos6-1.rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.239.237] 10    14 ms    13 ms    13 ms  212.58.238.153 11    13 ms    13 ms    13 ms  virtual-vip.thdo.bbc.co.uk [212.58.224.138]
Trace complete.
C:\Documents and Settings\Dug>

 

 

any advice welcome

 

 

 

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 17,234
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: Only 0.5 mbps upload speed on 10 mbps connection

you seem to not be in a upgraded area. only upgraded area will have the faster upload rate.
its just awaiting game
Please use plain text.
Superuser
griffin
Posts: 4,837
Registered: ‎17-10-2010

Re: Only 0.5 mbps upload speed on 10 mbps connection

Hi

   VM are currently upgrading upload speeds, you can check if your area has been upgraded. When I was on 20mb package the advertised (pre Upgrade)  upload speed was 750kb/s (never got close) so 055mb/s sounds about right. You can check your area Here.

  Could you post your modem power levels and modulation so they can be checked as per Mark's sticky at the top of the forum.

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
DugS
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎19-02-2011

Re: Only 0.5 mbps upload speed on 10 mbps connection

Ah yes, thanks guys I have just found the upgrade schedule.  Sorry I hadn't already got this far.  To be fair I'm not too unhappy with 0.5mbps as long as it gets upgraded in the future some time.

 

Here are all my hub settings as requested :

 

Startup Procedure
ProcedureStatusComment
Acquire Downstream Channel339000000 HzLocked
Connectivity StateOKOperational
Boot StateOKOperational
Configuration FileOK 
SecurityEnabledBPI+

Downstream Channel
Lock StatusLockedModulationQAM256
Channel ID7Symbol Rate5360537
Downstream Frequency339000000 HzDownstream Power0.0 dBmV
SNR33.0 dBmV  

Upstream Channel
Lock StatusLockedModulationQAM16
Channel ID2Symbol Rate2560 Ksym/sec
Upstream Frequency22200000 HzUpstream Power54.0 dBmV

Primary Downstream Service Flow
Downstream(0)
SFID8422
Max Traffic Rate10240000 bps
Max Traffic Burst3044 bytes
Mix Traffic Rate0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow
Upstream(0)
SFID8421
Max Traffic Rate512000 bps
Max Traffic Burst1600 bytes
Mix Traffic Rate0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst1522 bytes
Scheduling TypeBest Effort
Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 17,234
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: Only 0.5 mbps upload speed on 10 mbps connection

if your upstream stable to 54 or dies it go up over 55?

refresh the page every few seconds to see if its changing much.

if its stable then all looks good
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
DugS
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎19-02-2011

Re: Only 0.5 mbps upload speed on 10 mbps connection

Yep all stable at 54 - thanks guys.  And to be honest the connection is a lot more stable and faster for PS3 gaming than my old adsl was with higher upload speeds.

 

thanks

Please use plain text.
Human Answer Bank
James_G
Posts: 3,890
Registered: ‎16-06-2010

Re: Only 0.5 mbps upload speed on 10 mbps connection

Hi DugS,

 

Thanks for letting us know your issue is now resolved.

Regards,

James Gilbert

Help & Support Forum Team


If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords.

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question.

Please can we ask you not to PM the Forum team unless requested to do so by us
Please use plain text.