Searching for something?
Reply
Superuser
horseman
Posts: 6,472
Registered: ‎15-09-2009

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

 


foobazbar wrote:
I can't get through to scienceblogs.com using the VM network The website is up and functional, since it operates normally if I go via Tor proxies

 

Same symptoms - probably different problem.  Rackspace edge routers/hosting server appear to be blocking VM ip range as a tcptraceroute will illustrate as TCP/ICMP/UDP will all be dropped on final hop.

 

Whereas "uploading.com" allows TCP(etc) to port 80:

Screen shot 2011-03-11 at 07.02.54.png

 

Notice hops 8/9 which you won't probably see on your "scienceblog" tcptrace and I suspect are responsible for "application traffic management" part of IWF.  

 

ymmv as usual….

 

Regards Tony
"Life is a Binary Inspired Turing Computed Hologram"(don't PM or @Mention me - in case ignoring you offends)
Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
foobazbar
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎20-03-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again




horseman wrote:

 


foobazbar wrote:
I can't get through to scienceblogs.com using the VM network The website is up and functional, since it operates normally if I go via Tor proxies

 

Same symptoms - probably different problem.  Rackspace edge routers/hosting server appear to be blocking VM ip range as a tcptraceroute will illustrate as TCP/ICMP/UDP will all be dropped on final hop.

 

 


Thanks. What are the full tcptraceroute parameters you are using?

 

"Here at AT&T we treat every one equally,from kings and queens to the scum of the earth" - an old aphorism that can regrettably be updated by replacing AT&T with VM.
Please use plain text.
Wizard
gregoryfenton
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎25-09-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

What software is that?

Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
foobazbar
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎20-03-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

 


gregoryfenton wrote:

What software is that?


If by "that" you mean tcptraceroute, try googling it.

 

"Here at AT&T we treat every one equally,from kings and queens to the scum of the earth" - an old aphorism that can regrettably be updated by replacing AT&T with VM.
Please use plain text.
Wizard
gregoryfenton
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎25-09-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

Thanks.

 

Do you know if there is a recent .deb for ubuntu (I am on Maverick).

 

If not I will take a look and see if I can get it built myself.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 16,588
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

apt-get install tcptraceroute

its command line though
Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
foobazbar
Posts: 83
Registered: ‎20-03-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

 


apcyberax wrote:
apt-get install tcptraceroute

 

If you try to execute tcptraceroute and it isn't installed, then ubuntu will helpfully tell you how to get it.

 

But I'm sure you knew that.

"Here at AT&T we treat every one equally,from kings and queens to the scum of the earth" - an old aphorism that can regrettably be updated by replacing AT&T with VM.
Please use plain text.
Wizard
gregoryfenton
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎25-09-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

Yeah I can handle the bash command line.

 

tcptraceroute (unless i am mistaken) isn't the software shown in the picture above is it?

 

 

Please use plain text.
Captain Clued-Up
mossman
Posts: 1,248
Registered: ‎22-02-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

 


apcyberax wrote:
it still looks like like a problem from uploading.com end to me. i can connect and ping the site. but all i get is a error from the site. looks like load balencing problems.


I can access the site OK, upload file page states:

"Sorry, there are no free servers available. Please try again later."

 

 

I can also access the signup page with no problems, so maybe it was a problem at their end after all.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 16,588
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: Its official Virgin Media are blocking websites again

Please use plain text.