Ask a question
Reply
Making Waves
Shroomazon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

Hi all,

 

I'm new here so apologies if I don't provide anything needed right away or get a few things wrong, but I'd appreciate any help I can get!

 

I joined VM late November, and I've not had any serious issues, I'm generally quite happy with up/down speed and reliability. It's a huge step up from my previous BB experience with Tesco.

 

However, I have been having a consistent problem with playing a game called EVE Online. I can play the game for some time without error, but at other times i.e. the past 2 weeks, I constantly get an error message ingame which says something along the line of Sockets Closed Error. I have no idea what's causing it, as my internet connection stays live, it doesn't disconnect me from Teamspeak, Jabber or anything else that I have open at the time. It happens very irregular, not every 5 minutes or so or anything like that but it will be fine one minute then just randomly give me this error. I know it's something to do with the internet connection, as when I've played the game on my Tesco connection it worked perfectly. It was a little laggy at times hence me going for a faster connection but I never received this error message, nevermind as often.

 

I've played this game for around 4 years now, it's an MMO so having a reliable, consistent connection is extremely important to me and at the minute the game is becoming unplayable due to the amount of disconnects I keep getting. If someone could help me find out the problem and resolve it with me, I'd be very appreciative.

 

It might be worth noting that I play the game on a MacBook Pro Mid-2009 model, and everything else I use never drops connection. This goes for other people in the household too.

 

Thanks

Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Shroomazon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

As a lot of people have provided traceroutes in other posts, here's one to the bbc and then one to the eve online server.

[BBC]
Traceroute has started…

traceroute to bbc.co.uk (212.58.241.131), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
1 cpc11-basf8-2-0-gw.12-3.cable.virginmedia.com (82.3.76.1) 12.041 ms 11.176 ms 16.219 ms
2 nott-core-2b-ae7-3206.network.virginmedia.net (86.28.83.197) 11.210 ms 34.037 ms 11.061 ms
3 nrth-bb-1c-ae13-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.65) 10.674 ms 13.559 ms 16.061 ms
4 nrth-bb-1b-ae11-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.109) 68.398 ms 21.171 ms 21.199 ms
5 tele-ic-4-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.18) 12.691 ms 20.377 ms 20.150 ms
6 pos6-1.rt0.thdo.bbc.co.uk (212.58.239.237) 16.376 ms 16.386 ms 26.980 ms
7 * * *
8 ae1.er01.rbsov.bbc.co.uk (132.185.254.46) 20.365 ms 23.090 ms 15.433 ms
9 132.185.255.60 (132.185.255.60) 15.736 ms 18.556 ms 13.053 ms
10 212.58.241.131 (212.58.241.131) 17.827 ms 22.195 ms 13.767 ms

[EVE Online]
Traceroute has started…

traceroute to 87.237.38.200 (87.237.38.200), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
1 cpc11-basf8-2-0-gw.12-3.cable.virginmedia.com (82.3.76.1) 14.638 ms 15.658 ms 11.811 ms
2 nott-core-2a-ae7-3206.network.virginmedia.net (86.28.83.69) 12.101 ms 11.383 ms 29.165 ms
3 leed-bb-1c-ae4-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.61) 13.147 ms 13.598 ms 9.939 ms
4 manc-bb-1d-ae8-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.141) 19.972 ms 32.802 ms 11.765 ms
5 manc-bb-1a-ae11-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.159.85) 61.302 ms 10.447 ms 11.522 ms
6 glfd-bb-1b-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.175.146) 17.640 ms 14.189 ms 22.282 ms
7 glfd-tmr-1-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.159.46) 25.808 ms 16.863 ms 18.538 ms
8 tcl5-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.185.78) 17.700 ms 19.076 ms 24.516 ms
9 202-126-245-83.packetexchange.net (83.245.126.202) 23.405 ms 22.057 ms 26.443 ms
10 srv245-e.ccp.cc (87.237.36.245) 20.238 ms
Please use plain text.
Forum Team
Jen_A
Posts: 7,064
Registered: ‎23-11-2011

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

Hi Shromazon,

 

I was just typing a request to you to perform traceroutes to the game server and when I refreshed my page I saw you had posted just that :smileyhappy:

 

Overall the average ping times don't indicate any issues, although It would be helpful to see a traceroute at or around the time you receive the error.

 

Have you checked with your Game Provider to ensure there is no known issue their side?

 

Another thing to try is to connect via ethernet (if you are currently using wireless) and to try with the hub in modem mode.

If you could also provide a comparative traceroute whilst modem mode is enabled, that would be great.

 

Just to explain, at the moment is there is no reported fault regarding the problem you are having. All of our tests, both network side and at the Hub, indicate no fault.

With this we need to try everything that could help us to identify the cause of this particular problem.

Once we receive the requested information we'll see if that helps pinpoint the problem.


Jen_A
Help & Support Forum Team

Problem Solved?Fault with your service?We did warn you!
Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Shroomazon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

I've sent a message to some of the games 'GM's', asking if they know of any issue or anything that I could to help me pinpoint the issue.

 

I'll be sure to run a traceroute as soon I get another error message so that I can show you this too. Once I'm able to do this I'll then try the hub in modem mode connected via ethernet. I'll update this thread once I've got all of the information needed.

 

Thanks for the speedy response!

Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Shroomazon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

Traceroute has started…

traceroute to 87.237.38.200 (87.237.38.200), 64 hops max, 72 byte packets
 1  cpc11-basf8-2-0-gw.12-3.cable.virginmedia.com (82.3.76.1)  16.118 ms  47.144 ms  10.507 ms
 2  nott-core-2a-ae7-3206.network.virginmedia.net (86.28.83.69)  15.426 ms  8.855 ms  11.222 ms
 3  leed-bb-1c-ae4-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.61)  20.840 ms  18.212 ms  11.266 ms
 4  manc-bb-1d-ae8-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.174.141)  16.900 ms  11.438 ms  16.582 ms
 5  manc-bb-1a-ae11-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.159.85)  11.341 ms  13.170 ms  10.408 ms
 6  glfd-bb-1b-ae1-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.175.146)  18.938 ms  16.754 ms  19.642 ms
 7  glfd-tmr-1-ae5-0.network.virginmedia.net (213.105.159.46)  24.713 ms  19.728 ms  16.598 ms
 8  tcl5-ic-1-as0-0.network.virginmedia.net (62.253.185.78)  21.059 ms  21.137 ms  17.289 ms
 9  202-126-245-83.packetexchange.net (83.245.126.202)  21.123 ms  21.594 ms  23.109 ms
10  srv245-e.ccp.cc (87.237.36.245)  23.379 ms  22.713 ms  24.748 ms
11  srv248-e.ccp.cc (87.237.36.248)  19.873 ms  31.547 ms  27.998 ms
12  srv200-g.ccp.cc (87.237.38.200)  18.803 ms  20.441 ms  18.614 ms

 

 

Trace route after a disconnect.

Please use plain text.
Captain Clued-Up
James_C
Posts: 2,111
Registered: ‎05-12-2011

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

Hi Shromazon,

 

Thanks for providing us with that, it looks fine too, it shows you can still get to the game server.  This really does look like to be a problem with the game, have they responded to you yet with any information from their end?

Kind Regards,


James_C
Help & Support Forum Team

Seen a useful post?Problem Solved?Fault with your service?

Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Shroomazon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

Hello again,

 

This is the reply I received about half an hour ago from the games support team:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

2012.12.30 19:42:00   GM Akilian
------------------------------

------------------------------------------
Hello, thank you for contacting customer support.

When you connect to a server you don't just connect to a server. You connect to many different routers on the way to the server. If some of the routers on the way are faulty or having issue you will have packet loss and errors. When connecting to another server you will be going through a different route. Your ISP should be able to reroute you through a different set of routers to fix the issue. However you will have to contact them and ask for assistance.

The reason for a socket closed message is that the client fails to receive five consecutive packets from the server. The client will close the socket to prevent desynchronization between your client and the server.

In order to troubleshoot your network issue please take a look at the following site:

http://wiki.eveonline.com/en/wiki/Network_Guide

If you require further assistance then please update this petition.

With regards,
GM Akilian
EVE Online Customer Support Team
 
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
I've looked over their support link about testing the connection but it talks about doing a traceroute as I've already done.
Please use plain text.
Human Answer Bank
VMCopperUser
Posts: 2,970
Registered: ‎01-02-2011

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

[ Edited ]

Reply to the GM's responce and ask him if there is another server IP you can use. 

I think the spare IP's were removed, but it never huts to ask (and in the case of a GM, it never hurts to ask twice) :smileytongue:...

 

The IP still points to the same physical cluster, but in the past when VM problems existed then they have set up dedicated IP's for VM customers to use until VM got their end fixed.

 

Without knowing where the packet loss is happening then it is hard to know who to put the blame on.  Eve uses a self-healing network that can change routing on the fly when links are causing issues.

 

For me I have had no issues recently when connecting.

 

The thing that stands out to me in your post is the statement

"I play the game on a ....... and everything else I use never drops connection"

Are any of those "everything else" componets connecting to Eve online?

 

Also, are you using eve's voice chat or is that turned off?... I only ask because I have never used it and I do not know if this part of the client can cause disconnections.  As for the main client and game, It is done over a secure (encrypted) TCP connection so dont start port forwarding or setting up firewall rules as it should not be required.

----
I do not work for VM, but I would. It is just a Job.

I would also make websites for them, because the job never seems to require the website to work.

Read or Not ....
Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Shroomazon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

Hi VM,
I'll reply to ask them now.

I've not actually had any issues, at all today. I've had two clients connected for the past 6 hours with not one issue, which is the first time this has happened for me!
I'm the only one in the household who plays at any given time. I've not made use of the ingame voice chat for some time, it never seems to work anyway!

Thanks for all the help. I'll update the thread once I receive another reply from the GM.
Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Shroomazon
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎28-12-2012

Re: EVE Online on Virgin Media - Socket Closed error

Sorry for the late response. Here's the reply I recieved from the GM last:

 

Thank you for getting back to us.

Unfortunately we do not have a second IP address you can connect to. All I can offer you is a small troubleshooter to help you along the way. Your ISP should be able to help you with this issue.

http://support.eveonline.com/pages/kb/article.aspx?id=119

Hopefully they will be able to reroute you.

With regards,
GM Akilian
EVE Online Customer Support Team

 

 

 

 

I'm still experiencing these problems extremely often. If there's something that could be done please tell me, it's starting to get really annoying now.

 

Please use plain text.