Ask a question
Reply
Emerging Talent
SteveHunter
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎30-10-2010
Helpful Answer

194.168.4.100

[ Edited ]

As in the subject, who does this IP belong to and why are they connected to my router?

I have eliminated all possibility of it being a connection in the house.

they have 1 open UDP session, and ping <20ms.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 17,103
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: 194.168.4.100

its Virgin media DNS server
Please use plain text.
Emerging Talent
SteveHunter
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎30-10-2010

Re: 194.168.4.100

Ah i see, will it always be there? or just when they are monitoring the connection?

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 17,103
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: 194.168.4.100

the dns server is used to get ip addresses from domains so it will always be used when ever your online.
Please use plain text.
Crafty
r00x
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎12-10-2010

Re: 194.168.4.100

To elaborate: you need that DNS server. As you might know, when you type in a URL (like www.google.com) it's DNS servers that are responsible for resolving that name to the address of a specific system somewhere on the planet that has the content you're looking for.

 

There's a whole hierarchy of DNS servers working to shuffle you round the web. 194.168.4.100 is one of the ones that talks to 'you' directly. 

 

It doesn't have to be there, but if it wasn't, you'd have to get real good at memorising IP addresses to get anything online :smileywink:

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
misterbuggerlug
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎13-09-2009

Re: 194.168.4.100

Interestingly my firewall log reports.......

 

 

 Fri 09 Aug   18:34  194.168.4.100   54171   11  TCP- or UDP-based Port Scan

 

Why would the virgin media DNS server be port scanning me????????

       

Please use plain text.
Superuser
apcyberax
Posts: 17,103
Registered: ‎03-05-2010

Re: 194.168.4.100

they are not. its the way DNS works and is a false positive. That is the problem with people reading logs without understanding the results :smileytongue:
Please use plain text.
Gandalf
legacy1
Posts: 4,418
Registered: ‎29-01-2011

Re: 194.168.4.100

[ Edited ]

Is it always 194.168.4.100 that gets listed even if you set to use 194.168.8.100 only?

------------------Die-hard direct connection modem user :smileytongue:
Believing is catch 22 the VMDG280 should never of been made the Super hubs 1 & 2 could have been built better the years go by and we can't see the mistakes that were made to make things right.
The more that use modem mode the more we need IPv6: BQM, Outgoing ports test
Please use plain text.