Check your service statusCable National
Searching for something?
Reply
Making Waves
Vidge
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Speed increase from 50Mb to 100Mb performance is slightly worse

G'Day

 

I've recently received and installed the super hub, I used the PSU from the box and ensured all connections were well made. The super hub is running in modem only mode as I use my own wifi equipment throughout the house.

 

Wired speed tests show a 2Mb/s reduction in throughput on downstream and a 500Kb/s reduction on upstream since the swap.

 

Upstream   US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4 Channel Type 2.0 N/A N/A N/A Channel ID 50 N/A N/A N/A Frequency (Hz) 35800000 Hz N/A N/A N/A Ranging Status Success N/A N/A N/A Modulation QAM16 N/A N/A N/A Symbol Rate (Sym/sec) 5120000 N/A N/A N/A Mini-Slot Size 128 N/A N/A N/A Power Level (dBmV) 50.0 dBmV N/A N/A N/A T1 Timeouts 0 N/A N/A N/A T2 Timeouts 0 N/A N/A N/A T3 Timeouts 0 N/A N/A N/A T4 Timeouts 0 N/A N/A N/A

 

Downstream   DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8 Frequency (Hz) 291000000 Hz 283000000 Hz 299000000 Hz 307000000 Hz 315000000 Hz 323000000 Hz N/A N/A Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock) Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked Locked N/A N/A Channel ID 168 167 169 170 171 172 N/A N/A Modulation QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 QAM256 N/A N/A Symbol Rate (Msym/sec) 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 6.952000 N/A N/A Interleave Depth I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 I=12
J=17 N/A N/A Power Level (dBmV) 1.2 dBmV 1.0 dBmV 1.1 dBmV 0.6 dBmV 1.7 dBmV 2.0 dBmV N/A N/A RxMER (dB) 39.8 dB 39.6 dB 39.9 dB 39.5 dB 39.1 dB 39.0 dB N/A N/A

 

I'm not sure what more information to provide on a public forum. but I'd appreciate someone having a nose before I ring the help desk.

 

Cheers

 

Andy

Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Vidge
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Speed increase from 50Mb to 100Mb performance is slightly worse

I did a bit more testing this evening.

 

My Wireless equipment when connected picks up a 213.81.84 address jsut like it did when I had the old 50Meg modem installed, same IP address as it was previously.

 

If I change the MAC address of the host I get an 82.29.187 address and the full 120Mb/s.

 

Can someone delete my mac address out of the dhcp server please so I can be on the shiney fast pipes instead of the old smelly ones.

 

Cheers

 

Andy

 

Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Vidge
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Speed increase from 50Mb to 100Mb performance is slightly worse

[ Edited ]

Ok, I phoned the help desk and got through to the UK team. I explained the issue, to the first line support and was put through to second line. After speaking to someone else in the team I've been told to expect a call back on Monday.

 

As far as I can tell from my own diagnostics your mac address determines which network you're placed upon, it seems the rate limit is associated with the IP space. I'll post back with any updates, if I get any.

Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Vidge
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Speed increase from 50Mb to 100Mb performance is slightly worse

No call back, mac is still locked to the old IP range. I'll give it another few days then cut over to infinity.
Please use plain text.
Expert Opinionator
Dai_T
Posts: 2,672
Registered: ‎16-01-2012

Re: Speed increase from 50Mb to 100Mb performance is slightly worse

Hi Vidge, 

 

I'm afraid we are unable to alter or change the IP lease that has been assigned to your modem. 

 

If you were to use your Superhub in Modem mode this will change the IP address. Alternatively the only way to do this is waiting for the lease to expire. 

 

I have heard of cases where turning the equipment off for over 24 hours sometimes generates a new lease, however, I cannot guarantee that this will work.


Dai_T
Help & Support Forum Team

Seen a useful post?Problem Solved?Fault with your service?
Please use plain text.
Making Waves
Vidge
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎20-03-2013

Re: Speed increase from 50Mb to 100Mb performance is slightly worse

Hi Dai

 

Thanks for the response.

 

I'm quite confused, surely someone has access to the DHCP servers / service and can delete my lease, you do have my mac address, account information and area information to hand.  Even if the lease is provided by the network edge equipment itself this should be possible. Actually you guys should consider putting some sort of management interface on it as I'm sure i'm not the only person who will have this issue. I would imaging that most people whom have there own internal network equipment will just swap the modem over, leaving the existing internal equipment in place.

 

I've had the same address for nearly a year now, I doubt it'll magically change itself by leaving the kit off for a day, I've been without the incoming line to the house for longer than that in the past.

 

Here's a question, can I use my own cable modem ? I've got a DOCSIS 2.0 compliant WIC module sitting here that I can stick in a router.

 

 

Please use plain text.
Boffin
RichHW
Posts: 513
Registered: ‎05-12-2011

Re: Speed increase from 50Mb to 100Mb performance is slightly worse

Hi Vidge,

 

I'm sorry but the ability to manually manage your IP address is not available on the residential service.

 

On the ‎21-03-2013 at 21:34, you posted that changing you host's MAC address caused your IP address to change. Are you able to continue to use that MAC address?

 

Finally, only the supplied Virgin Media equipment will be permitted to connect to our network.

 

Kind regards,


Richard
Help & Support Forum Team

Seen a useful post?Problem Solved?Fault with your service?
Please use plain text.
The Sorter
weegiegeek
Posts: 600
Registered: ‎01-03-2013

Re: Speed increase from 50Mb to 100Mb performance is slightly worse

Have you checked if your router can spoof the "good" MAC? If not, is there a firmware that can? I know I can change the WAN MAC of my router as and when I want.

Please use plain text.