Reply
One to Watch
duffster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-11-2011

from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

Upgraded from 50Mb to 100Mb about 2 weeks ago.

 

I've never seen 10Mb upload speed, although I managed 9Mb at around midnight - not much use I'm afraid.

I mostly see around 7Mb up.

My download speeds are very variable - anything from 65Mb - 103Mb.

I've pasted my speedtest.net results below - these were mostly using TranceFM and namisco as I am in London.I have also verified my speeds to private networks I have access to which are on 1Gb leased lines, so I'm sure about the speeds I'm seeing.

 

Far more irritatingly, I keep getting outages where I have no access to the internet for a few minutes at a time. As this never happened whilst I was on 50Mb, it can only be due to the upgrade. The engineer wouldn't let me keep my old VMG300 so either this is occurring due to the new "superhub" being no good, or maybe because the powerlevels are wrong for the new modem. It would be rather coincidental if it were happening due to network problems.

So which is it VM? Would you like to send me my VMG300 back so I can see if the problems go away, or would you like to spend weeks checking the network to try and find the problem?

 

For the record, this occurs on all my computer devices, both windows and linux, and also on various android devices regardless of whether they are wired or wireless. It is not a problem with any of my equipment, so the fault can only lie with the superhub or the VM network.

 

Please look into this, and tell me what you are going to do about it.

Thanks.

 

1/27/2012 10:04 AMGMT67.484.0523London
1/27/2012 10:08 AMGMT54.265.0717London
1/27/2012 10:17 AMGMT79.186.5115London
1/27/2012 10:17 AMGMT83.816.6716London
1/27/2012 10:19 AMGMT52.556.8515London
1/27/2012 10:37 AMGMT56.676.7516London
1/27/2012 10:44 AMGMT99.986.9515London
1/27/2012 10:45 AMGMT99.996.5117London
1/27/2012 10:46 AMGMT102.216.9717London
1/27/2012 10:49 AMGMT101.116.5916London
1/27/2012 10:53 AMGMT100.616.917London
1/27/2012 10:54 AMGMT97.986.8314London
1/27/2012 10:57 AMGMT74.856.7611London
1/27/2012 10:58 AMGMT97.336.712London
1/27/2012 10:59 AMGMT65.946.8610London
1/27/2012 11:00 AMGMT58.016.4750Newbury
1/27/2012 11:01 AMGMT64.276.9126London
1/27/2012 11:02 AMGMT75.567.0317London
1/27/2012 11:02 AMGMT64.717.1613London
1/27/2012 11:04 AMGMT65.016.850Newbury
1/27/2012 11:07 AMGMT61.657.0223London
1/27/2012 11:54 AMGMT102.425.3128London
1/27/2012 1:04 PMGMT103.177.0411London
1/27/2012 11:58 PMGMT94.739.2312London
1/27/2012 11:59 PMGMT101.529.0916London
1/29/2012 12:41 AMGMT102.229.1614London
1/29/2012 12:41 AMGMT103.689.124London
1/29/2012 12:42 AMGMT102.779.1516London
1/30/2012 11:33 AMGMT102.828.8310London
2/4/2012 9:31 PMGMT66.735.5711London
2/4/2012 9:31 PMGMT64.916.9918London
2/8/2012 10:25 PMGMT79.587.3517London
2/8/2012 10:26 PMGMT68.427.7625London
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
duffster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-11-2011

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

So what do I have to do to get a response from VM on this?

 

My speeds vary day to day, and I sometimes see good download speeds but they go from about 55-100Mb so hardly reliable.

I've never seen 10Mb upload yet - 9Mb is the max, but it is mostly less than that.

 

My computer is fine - I'm using a modern PC with GbE wired connection to the superhub. The problem rests entirely with the modem or the broadband provision itself.

 

Furthermore, the superhub loses its wireless connection requiring a reboot about once a week. It is a very long way from being a robust piece of kit.

Please give me back my VMG300. I never had to reset that.

 

 

 

Please use plain text.
Superuser
paultechy
Posts: 8,214
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

[ Edited ]

the forum admin team are close to about 5 to 7 day wait for a reply, also they answer posted based on the oldest post in a thread.. so i would advise not posting anything further and DONT do any bumps that's worse.

 

Visit http://192.168.0.1 username admin password changeme if you then click on advanced settings, and choose connection and copy and paste all details can you also post the event log... you could re-use your own router and use modem mode - >How do I set up Modem Mode on my Super Hub?

----------------------------------------------------------
If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as an Accepted Solution
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
duffster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-11-2011

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

stats requested below.

Also see my thinkbroadband graph:

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/1cf75722a96fae3ec7e62cb3f4483476-23-02-2012.html

It clearly shows terrible ping stats on the weekends, but better during the week. There seems to be some serious overutilisation going on there.

 

Please leave this thread for VM to reply to.

Thanks

 

Connection


Startup Procedure
ProcedureStatusComment
Acquire Downstream Channel315000000 HzLocked
Connectivity StateOKOperational
Boot StateOKOperational
Configuration FileOK 
SecurityEnabledBPI+

Downstream Channels
Lock StatusModulationChannel IDMax Raw Bit RateFrequencyPowerSNRDocsis/EuroDocsis locked
LockedQAM2566255616000 Kbits/sec315000000 Hz4.7 dBmV36.8 dBHybrid
LockedQAM2566055616000 Kbits/sec299000000 Hz5.1 dBmV36.8 dBHybrid
LockedQAM2566155616000 Kbits/sec307000000 Hz4.9 dBmV36.9 dBHybrid
LockedQAM2566355616000 Kbits/sec323000000 Hz4.3 dBmV36.5 dBHybrid
UnlockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV0.0 dBUnknown
UnlockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV0.0 dBUnknown
UnlockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV0.0 dBUnknown
UnlockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV0.0 dBUnknown

Upstream Channels
Lock StatusModulationChannel IDMax Raw Bit RateFrequencyPower
LockedATDMA120480 Kbits/sec45800000 Hz40.0 dBmV
UnlockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
UnlockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
UnlockedUnknown00 Ksym/sec0 Hz0.0 dBmV
 

Primary Downstream Service Flow
Downstream(0)
SFID11012
Max Traffic Rate110000000 bps
Max Traffic Burst10000 bytes
Mix Traffic Rate0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow
Upstream(0)
SFID19742
Max Traffic Rate10250000 bps
Max Traffic Burst16320 bytes
Mix Traffic Rate0 bps
Max Concatenated Burst16320 bytes
Scheduling TypeBest Effort

Current System Time:Thu Feb 23 21:44:55 2012

 


TimePriorityDescription
 Mon Feb 20 10:39:13 2012   Critical (3)  DHCP FAILED - Requested Info not supported.;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Mon Feb 20 10:39:04 2012   Critical (3)  No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Mon Feb 20 10:38:19 2012   Notice (6)  CMTS DCC 315000000 MHz 
 Mon Feb 20 10:37:27 2012   Critical (3)  Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Mon Feb 20 10:36:55 2012   Critical (3)  Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Mon Feb 20 09:43:20 2012   Error (4)  DHCP RENEW sent - Invalid DHCP v4 option;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Fri Jan 27 11:17:08 2012   Critical (3)  Resetting the cable modem due to docsDevResetNow 
 Time Not Established  Critical (3)  DHCP FAILED - Requested Info not supported.;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Time Not Established  Critical (3)  No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Time Not Established  Critical (3)  DHCP FAILED - Request sent, No response;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Time Not Established  Critical (3)  SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire FEC framing;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Time Not Established  Critical (3)  SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Failed to acquire QAM/QPSK symbol timing;;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0; 
 Time Not Established  Critical (3)  DHCP FAILED - Requested Info not supported.;CM-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx;CMTS-MAC=xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xxCM-QOS=1.0;CM-VER=3.0; 


Please use plain text.
One to Watch
duffster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-11-2011

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

sorry, that ping graph should have been this one:

 

http://www.thinkbroadband.com/ping/share/4b55c1c5f690742aad942093381024c7.html
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
duffster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-11-2011

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

Please use plain text.
Good to Know
Oliver_C
Posts: 825
Registered: ‎23-11-2011

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

Hi duffster, 

 

I have checked your local network segment and I can see that during peak hours your local UBR is suffering from high load.  If this load continues we will pass this on to our network team for further investigation.  

 

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused. 

Kind Regards,

Oliver C

Help & Support Forum Team



If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer? You can also help other users find useful posts by Tagging them with keywords.

If you are new to the forum, please remember to search the forum before posting your question. Please don't send private messages directly to the forum team unless they ask you to, post your issue to the forum first.
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
duffster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-11-2011

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

That really isn't a particularly helpful response.

 

Since I upgraded to 100Mb, I have very rarely seen the full download speed and I have NEVER seen 10Mb upload.

 

On average I'd say I get about 70Mb down and 7Mb up - and that is an average so it is frequently much worse than that. Are you going to give me a 30% discount on my bill to compensate?

 

You have not stated how the load will be checked. Is it automated? Do you manually check periodically (assuming you remember to do so)? Do you rely solely on me to report continued poor speeds?How long does the poor speed have to persist for before you regard it as a problem worthy of investigation?

 

Given that it has been like this since I moved to 100Mb, I can't see any reason to believe it is going to get any better on its own, so I would appreciate it if you would launch an investigation now. Is this something you can do?

 

Thanks,

Please use plain text.
Trust Me, I’m a Doctor
Benjamin_T
Posts: 3,545
Registered: ‎23-11-2011

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

Hi duffster,

 

As this is a community support forum we are unable to discuss complaints and/or billing queries.

 

Please call 150 from a Virgin Media landline or 0845 454 1111.

I work for Virgin Media but my opinions are my Own
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
duffster
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-11-2011

Re: from Rock Solid 50Mb - upgraded to flakey 100Mb

down to 28Mb/sec today.

 

It's getting worse.

 

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1827980765.png

 

Are you going to look into this now?

Please use plain text.