Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
Bright Spark
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎13-12-2011

Tivo box and my home network

Hi we got a new tivo box fitted a few days ago, i was wondering if its possible to conect tivo to my home network via a cable to my router. The engineer said that it may be possible but i have tried to no avail

 

Superuser
Posts: 13,645
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: Tivo box and my home network

It is possible to connect it to your home network, but what are you expecting to be able to do once you've done so?
**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Brainbox
Posts: 184
Registered: ‎27-04-2010

Re: Tivo box and my home network

This should work.

 

THe only things you can currently do with it connected to the network is Remote Control from a device such as android phones (using Tivo Commander) and iPads/iPhones (using Peanut app).

 

YOu have to enable this in the settings mind you.

Bright Spark
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎13-12-2011

Re: Tivo box and my home network

I was wondering if its possible to stream films of my pc to the tivo box.

The Troubleshooter
Posts: 1,946
Registered: ‎09-06-2011

Re: Tivo box and my home network

[ Edited ]

dacjaffa wrote:

I was wondering if its possible to stream films of my pc to the tivo box.


No it is not possible.

 

That is what a Lovefilm app and/or Netflix app on TiVo will be for when ever it comes out.

________________________________________________________________________________

If someone's helped you out say thanks by clicking on the Kudos Star. If someone's solved your problem, why not mark their message as a Helpful Answer.
Good to Know
Posts: 445
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: Tivo box and my home network

i use a tivo remote on my windows vista laptop

 

http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/TiVo/VM-Tivo-Net-Remote-for-PC-running-Windows-7/td-p/862523/pag...

this post may contain nuts :smileywink:
Good to Know
Posts: 445
Registered: ‎07-09-2010

Re: Tivo box and my home network

new link and tested on my home network. it works. with vista 32b and 64b.

 

http://www.andypwheeler.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/tivoremote/

 

Ver 0.03

 sometimes the superhub will kick it off but just switch your wifi card of the on again.

 

Have fun.

this post may contain nuts :smileywink:
One to Watch
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎12-04-2012

Re: Tivo box and my home network

not possible mate, VM need to enable the Tivotogo service, like U.S users have, (which they have no plans to do when i rang them yesterday) - Until they do this, no streaming media.  It's very disappointing.

Making Waves
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎31-03-2010

Re: Tivo box and my home network

Hi

I would like to access shared files on my PC from my TiVo box. Is that possible?

Also, does the Tivo box need to be connected via Ethernet to my home network to enable android app controlling?

Superuser
Posts: 5,903
Registered: ‎01-03-2010

Re: Tivo box and my home network

You cannot share files from the tivo to a pc, you need to network the tivo to allow apps to work as a remote control