Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
Wizard
shawty1984
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎14-04-2011

How to Connect TiVo to home network.

How do I connect Tivo to my network by using a smart TV wireless adapter? I have a Virgin Media Netgear USB adapter and a Samsung Smart TV adapter, but they don't seem to work.

http://www.virginmedia.com/apps/android/tvanywhere/homeconnectivity/

Please use plain text.
Superuser
BenMcr
Posts: 12,394
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

[ Edited ]

You can't use a USB wireless adapter. You need either Homeplugs or something like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WR702N-Wireless-Extender-Set-top/dp/B006PYGWG6/ as the network connection if via the Ethernet socket only

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Please use plain text.
Wizard
shawty1984
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎14-04-2011

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.


BenMcr wrote:

You can't use a USB wireless adapter. You need either Homeplugs or something like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WR702N-Wireless-Extender-Set-top/dp/B006PYGWG6/ as the network connection if via the Ethernet socket only


So why does it say you can use a Smart TV wireless adapter?

Please use plain text.
Superuser
Ernie_C
Posts: 3,739
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
Ernie_C
Posts: 3,739
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

[ Edited ]

shawty1984 wrote:

BenMcr wrote:

You can't use a USB wireless adapter. You need either Homeplugs or something like this http://www.amazon.co.uk/TP-Link-TL-WR702N-Wireless-Extender-Set-top/dp/B006PYGWG6/ as the network connection if via the Ethernet socket only


So why does it say you can use a Smart TV wireless adapter?


...because a USB wireless adapter is not a Smart TV wireless adapter. The adapter in my other post is a Smart TV wireless adapter.

Please use plain text.
Superuser
BenMcr
Posts: 12,394
Registered: ‎11-08-2009

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.


shawty1984 wrote:

So why does it say you can use a Smart TV wireless adapter?


The link it gives is to this one http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B005LDM53G which is not a USB adapter.

 

I'll feed back that the wording needs changing to make it clearer what it's suggesting you use

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Please use plain text.
Omniscient
gary_dexter
Posts: 13,074
Registered: ‎25-07-2011

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

Also what are you hoping to accomplish by connecting it to your home network?
*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
Please use plain text.
Wizard
shawty1984
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎14-04-2011

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

Yes it is. I've got one plugged into my smart TV.
Please use plain text.
Wizard
shawty1984
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎14-04-2011

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

To be able to use TV Anywhere as a remote. Why would you need to ask this?
Please use plain text.
Omniscient
gary_dexter
Posts: 13,074
Registered: ‎25-07-2011

Re: How to Connect TiVo to home network.

Some people have expectations that they can watch their recorded tivo shows on the app.

Just wanted to be sure
*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
Please use plain text.