Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
One to Watch
matt84
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎11-04-2011

1080i/1080p TIVO

Is it true that no channel currently broadcasts in 1080p, only 1080i? I have a 1080p tv and a tivo 500gb, the settings section will only allow me to set it to 1080i not 1080p on the tivo yet the tv is definately a 1080p tv.

 

This really confuses me as my old samsung v+ hd box allowed me to set it to 1080p no problem??????

*I am currently a Virgin Media employee however my posts are entirely my own opinion and aren't reflective of Virgin Media the company.
Please use plain text.
Superuser
AMWSmith
Posts: 4,195
Registered: ‎05-01-2011

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO

it is true about the 1080p no channel broadcast in it yet.

 

Tony.
2X TiVo 500G (TV XL) 152Mb BB & Weekend Calls.
Please use plain text.
Boffin
99adgil
Posts: 274
Registered: ‎18-03-2011

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO

the old v+ box just fake upressed to 1080p and no tv is only transmitted in 1080i though some tv's like mine will smooth it out a bit and make it hard to tell difference between the 2
Please use plain text.
Superuser
dannylau
Posts: 5,101
Registered: ‎01-03-2010

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO


matt84 wrote:

Is it true that no channel currently broadcasts in 1080p, only 1080i? I have a 1080p tv and a tivo 500gb, the settings section will only allow me to set it to 1080i not 1080p on the tivo yet the tv is definately a 1080p tv.

 

This really confuses me as my old samsung v+ hd box allowed me to set it to 1080p no problem??????


The Tivo outputs 1080p at 25FPS most TV's in the UK will only work at 24FPS

Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
partitura
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎08-04-2010

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO


AMWSmith wrote:

it is true about the 1080p no channel broadcast in it yet.

 


This maybe true on Virgin Media's TV service but it is not true generally. Both the BBC and Channel 4 output some of their HD content in 1080p on Freeview.

Please use plain text.
Good to Know
MattF
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎22-03-2010

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO

I really dont think thats true as it would take double the bandwith - whats your source for that?
Please use plain text.
Clever-clogs
partitura
Posts: 45
Registered: ‎08-04-2010

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO

Well the evidence of my television telling me the resolution of the broadcasted programme for a start. But, assuming you don't believe my assertion of it, try searching the web for BBC 1080p and you will see plenty of references to it.

Please use plain text.
Mythical
jb66
Posts: 6,585
Registered: ‎08-03-2010

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO

The v+ never had 1080p
No longer registered
Please use plain text.
Boffin
NickNewark
Posts: 339
Registered: ‎08-08-2010

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO

I thought i had heard that the Tv Guide menu and some of the menu's on TIVO, were in 1080p?, and like the person said all tv transmitted pictures are at 1080i. My tivo is set to both 1080i &1080p. 

Please use plain text.
Good to Know
MattF
Posts: 401
Registered: ‎22-03-2010

Re: 1080i/1080p TIVO


partitura wrote:

Well the evidence of my television telling me the resolution of the broadcasted programme for a start. But, assuming you don't believe my assertion of it, try searching the web for BBC 1080p and you will see plenty of references to it.



Fair enough - I apologise. When Freeview HD was first muted they talked about the posibility of a max of 3 HD Channels so the technology is obviously progressing fast if they can get 1080P down the pipe - in a manner of speaking.

Please use plain text.