Menu
Highlighted
Up to speed
Message 1 of 8 (640 Views)

Steam Offline Mode

Hi, this weekend my 200mbps broadband went down AGAIN, its been playing up over weekends for the last 6 weeks and now im getting the hump.

now i get BAttlefield 1, and 4 wont work without internet, but whats the score with Steam?

OFFLINE MODE? -- so why doenst a single game let me play single player even though all these games i have are single player as well as online, plus have cpu vs player modes?

am i missing some thing to make these games work without internet or is this just the way it is? (£40 games i cant play without internet>)

shocking! whats the point in offline mode in steam then?

****If I can help I will, I am an ex telecoms engineer and install/service engineer for Virgin Media and BT, Sky Talk Talk and Plus Net. If you like the answer I give please give it a thumbs up.. Glad to help Smiley Happy ****
0 Kudos
Superuser
Message 2 of 8 (628 Views)

Re: Steam Offline Mode

It seems to be the norm that while games can have single player campaigns/story mode or player VS AI, there is a "login gate" to get by first. FPS games esp. are like this, even Diablo, Sim City and others have it.

I have a couple of random free games which work fine in steam offline mode. It's just the triple A games with the login gate that don't work for me in steam offline mode.

- - - - - -
Any opinions expressed by myself are entirely my own and do not represent Virgin Media in any way.
0 Kudos
Up to speed
Message 3 of 8 (623 Views)

seems a bit harsh, we pay alot of money for these games £40+ and i pay more than that for 200mbps broadband, but when Virgin let me down i cant even relax and play a vs cpu of my games! thats just bloody annoying!

they need to change this so you can play singkle player without broadband! either that or virgin need to stop cutting us off