Menu
Highlighted
sbstnceovrstyle
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Why Would an Offline Modem Also Disconnect Wifi?

The subject says it all.

I am new to Virgin (I arrived in the UK on March 8 from Australia).  In all my experience with cable and ADSL modems when they aren't connecting to the ISP they still always keep the WiFi active enabling all wireless devices to remain connected to WiFi even if the modem doesn't have internet.  Why do both the first modem I was issued with and the second both go offline for WiFi? (The two were the same model).

I am in South Kensington and there is a utilisation issue here (too many people using the network) and I have had no reliable service since when I signed up.  I have been told that it's going to take until July for me to see this issue resolved (nobody at Virgin is getting too upset about it - it seems to be just one of those things for Virgin - nothing to lose sleep over).   I want to provide my computer help businesses' remote customers with support and the internet doesn't stay up.  Apparently there was a known issue in my area when I signed up but the person who signed me up on the phone never said anything about it.

There are two things about my circumstances which are all pretty disgraceful:

1.  I was signed up without being told of the issue in my region.

2.  It's going to take until July to fix.

3.  I have to be the one to call up and ask for a credit on my bill.

Anyway, it would at least be nice if I didn't have to manually connect each of my devices to WiFi when a disconnection happens (tonight it's gone offline about five times).

Philip

0 Kudos

Helpful Answers
Superuser
Superuser
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Why Would an Offline Modem Also Disconnect Wifi?

Because these all-in-one hubs are essentially one motherboard with a core CPU such as Puma 5 or Puma 6 SoC, with wifi and router chips on the same board, resetting the core CPU tends to reset the wifi too.