Menu
TheAspiringNerd
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Thinking about getting Fiber however....

So currently I am with sky and the speed is ungodly awful. I'm looking to get Fiber however the state of Fiber in my road is that they are currently in the design process. Does virgin media offer Fiber to premises with their broadband. I really need a better speed as I'm a uni student and a gamer and with the current speeds I get its a hassle to do anything.
0 Kudos
stevedh2
Knows their stuff
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Thinking about getting Fiber however....

Mostly VM offers fiber to the cabinet, but the connection from the cabinet to your home is coaxial as apposed to BTs twisted pair so can offer higher speeds.

However if you look through these forums you can see nothing is guaranteed, on the other hand happy people don't tend to comment.

One thing to be aware of is that Virgins upstream speeds can't go as high as bt infinities.

Also does virgin cover your area?

Dave_cq
Trouble shooter
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Most existing VM customers are on Fibre To The Cabinet with the drop cable from the street cabinet to the property being high quality multi-shielded coaxial cable.

VM have an ongoing 'Project Lightning' for new-builds which uses Fibre To The Property so if your street is not cabled yet it's just possible that you will have access to FTTP.

********* SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - Vivid 100Mbps **********

Electron
0 Kudos
Superuser
Superuser
Message 4 of 5
Flag for a moderator

TheAspiringNerd wrote:
So currently I am with sky and the speed is ungodly awful. I'm looking to get Fiber however the state of Fiber in my road is that they are currently in the design process. Does virgin media offer Fiber to premises with their broadband. I really need a better speed as I'm a uni student and a gamer and with the current speeds I get its a hassle to do anything.