Menu
Reply
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2017
Message 1 of 32 (910 Views)

Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws

Does anyone know if the HUGE security flaw with the SuperHub 3 will be patched?

On login to the device, the password is shown in plain text for all to see! God knows what other glaring omissions are rampant but Virgin themselves seem to be unphased by this...

Also, much of the functionality I enjoyed with the SuperHub 2 is now gone. Will this ever return?

Superuser
  • 12.35K
  • 1.58K
  • 3.61K
Registered: ‎22-06-2013
Message 2 of 32 (899 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws


couerdelion wrote:

Does anyone know if the HUGE security flaw with the SuperHub 3 will be patched? On login to the device, the password is shown in plain text for all to see! God knows what other glaring omissions are rampant but Virgin themselves seem to be unphased by this...
The hub has a lot of longstanding issues that have been completely ignored. Knowing VM, such issues will probably never be patched. VM are in the process of stripping away functions from the hub 3.0 (and seemingly breaking those which were allowed to remain.)

Also, much of the functionality I enjoyed with the SuperHub 2 is now gone. Will this ever return?
Nope, even the older hubs are seeing features removed from them


 

- - - - - -
Any opinions expressed by myself are entirely my own and do not represent Virgin Media in any way.
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2017
Message 3 of 32 (885 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws

What a crock! You can't even change the local IP address of the SH3 so it's not the hacker's favourite 192.168.0.x any more...I mean, **bleep** are VM playing at?

Superuser
  • 12.35K
  • 1.58K
  • 3.61K
Registered: ‎22-06-2013
Message 4 of 32 (877 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws


couerdelion wrote:

What a crock! You can't even change the local IP address of the SH3 so it's not the hacker's favourite 192.168.0.x any more...I mean, **bleep** are VM playing at?


I miss that option too. I ran mine at 172.16.0.X on my hub 2.

- - - - - -
Any opinions expressed by myself are entirely my own and do not represent Virgin Media in any way.
Problem sorter
  • 2.3K
  • 175
  • 712
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Message 5 of 32 (843 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws

Best bet is to stick it in Modem Mode and buy a decent router.

 

********** SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - 70Mbit Service ***********

Electron
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 3
Registered: ‎07-02-2017
Message 6 of 32 (776 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws

Yes, my thoughts exactly! No point wasting time struggling with sub-standard equipment.

I'm looking at the Asus RT and the Linksys WRT ranges. Any thoughts on these?

Reply
0 Kudos
Problem sorter
  • 2.3K
  • 175
  • 712
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
Message 7 of 32 (768 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws


couerdelion wrote:

Yes, my thoughts exactly! No point wasting time struggling with sub-standard equipment.

I'm looking at the Asus RT and the Linksys WRT ranges. Any thoughts on these?


Well as you'll see from my sig I'm an Asus fan.  The RT-AC68U is providing very reliable service at Chateau Dave_cq ... great user interface and superb Wi-Fi coverage.

 

 

 

********** SuperHub 2ac - Asus rt-ac68u Router - 70Mbit Service ***********

Electron
Dialled in
  • 67
  • 0
  • 9
Registered: ‎17-03-2016
Message 8 of 32 (735 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws

Are you running an open network? See point 5 in the attached link. If you connect to the Superhub with an Ethernet cable direct from your machine, there is no exposure. If this isn't your concern please be more so infix on the risk 

http://www.pcworld.com/article/2052158/5-wi-fi-security-myths-you-must-abandon-now.html

David Smith | Blueyonder pioneer (2001) | Mac OS X Sierra, WIndows 10, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, iOS and Android | Internal Distro via Ethernet Cat 6, 5 Ghz 802.11ac wireless and HomePlug Av2
Reply
0 Kudos
Dialled in
  • 67
  • 0
  • 9
Registered: ‎17-03-2016
Message 9 of 32 (735 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws

Sorry '... More specific on the risks.'
David Smith | Blueyonder pioneer (2001) | Mac OS X Sierra, WIndows 10, Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, iOS and Android | Internal Distro via Ethernet Cat 6, 5 Ghz 802.11ac wireless and HomePlug Av2
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 21
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎03-03-2017
Message 10 of 32 (649 Views)

Re: Super Hub 3 Massive Flaws

Not being able to change the IP range, or the gateway IP on the router is totally ridiculous. I've had no choice but to use Modem Only mode because my network uses 192.168.228.0/24 and isn't going to be changed ... one because I'd have to reconfigure all my kit (and there is a lot of stuff given I have a smart home setup etc), and secondly not being able to change it will cause problems for anyone who needs to work from home but has the same range in the office.

What crack are Virgin smoking?

 

Reply
0 Kudos