Menu
Reply
  • 2.26K
  • 30
  • 199
jhuk
Knows their stuff
653 Views
Message 61 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Thread is becoming like a broken record TBH...

If you are not happy leave and get a modem on the ADSL which I doubt is that slow today unless in the sticks.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 156
  • 3
  • 16
JitteryPinger
Up to speed
648 Views
Message 62 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Smiley LOL

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.26K
  • 30
  • 199
jhuk
Knows their stuff
637 Views
Message 63 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

or

Buy a Router like one of Asus range and stick VM's HUB in modem mode unless you do not actually need a router just stick to the modem mode alone.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 20.52K
  • 541
  • 3.16K
Sephiroth
Alessandro Volta
634 Views
Message 64 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


jhuk wrote:

Thread is becoming like a broken record TBH...

If you are not happy leave and get a modem on the ADSL which I doubt is that slow today unless in the sticks.


... and it's going off topic.  I'm fairly sure the DOCSIS 3.1 Gateway they'll put out will have 32 downstream channels and I forget how many upstream certainly well over 4.  If I recall correctly, it won't have an Intel Puma chip set.

 

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 156
  • 3
  • 16
JitteryPinger
Up to speed
623 Views
Message 65 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


Sephiroth wrote:
... and it's going off topic.  I'm fairly sure the DOCSIS 3.1 Gateway they'll put out will have 32 downstream channels and I forget how many upstream certainly well over 4.  If I recall correctly, it won't have an Intel Puma chip set.

 


Firstly, I don't feel its off topic, we're discussing the future potential, how is customers expressing there want for a modem and not just a mode off topic...

As for the next hub not using Intel Puma, I'll beleive that when I see it, specially based on Arris's current and coming soon range of devices.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.26K
  • 30
  • 199
jhuk
Knows their stuff
620 Views
Message 66 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Topic says HUB4 not Modem 4, you can start a new thread if you really want to take it further but again you have options currently to not use VM's router side of things.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 156
  • 3
  • 16
JitteryPinger
Up to speed
616 Views
Message 67 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

That closed mind of yours bashing the keyboard again... Smiley Wink

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.26K
  • 30
  • 199
jhuk
Knows their stuff
610 Views
Message 68 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

bulger-boys.JPG

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 503
  • 9
  • 130
Guybrush85
Fibre optic
554 Views
Message 69 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Well this went west lol. When it's all said and done, the specifics of the Hub 4 are yet to be determined, but it's going to be a router.

Hope this time they don't go with that horrible white though! I have mine hidden away like a dirty little secret behind a cabinet (it's in modem mode before someone tells me about the positioning of a router Smiley Tongue)

--------------------------------------------------------
Look behind you, a three-headed monkey
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 193
  • 19
  • 46
tekmobile
Superfast
552 Views
Message 70 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


Guybrush85 wrote:

Well this went west lol. When it's all said and done, the specifics of the Hub 4 are yet to be determined, but it's going to be a router.

Hope this time they don't go with that horrible white though! I have mine hidden away like a dirty little secret behind a cabinet (it's in modem mode before someone tells me about the positioning of a router Smiley Tongue)


Luckily mines the black one

Although judging by the comments a pure modem is highly sought after we all know it wont happen though.
Just as long as the HUB4 has working modem mode and not using a broken chipset ill be happy 



--------
I do not work for virgin media any opinions I have are my own
I will help out when possible but know that some information may be incorrect or out of date

If you find any post helpful don't forget to click the kudos button and mark answers as helpful as this may help other users with the same questions