Menu
Reply
  • 156
  • 3
  • 16
JitteryPinger
Up to speed
744 Views
Message 41 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Still waiting for better upstream channels here... think were lucky to have 16 channels on DS, US is still 2 bonded 16 QAM channels, everyone else I know on Virgin outside my area getting atleast 2 64QAM US Channels....

Personally I thing the originating theory on this thread has merit, I think the rollout will start around the dates mentioned, however its going to be a long rollout, probably with new areas (Project Lightning) benefitting first.

Most areas will probably have DOCSIS 3.0 run to its limits first and the worst congested areas seeing 3.1 rollout to balance out usage.

However this is all specualtion.

Things that would be nice before anymore DS upgrades...

A modem.... just modem option...

faster upstreams, preferably the following tier configs.

50/5, 100/15, 200/30, 300,50 or similar. 12meg on a 200 connection is rubbish, 20meg on a 300meg connection also rubbish.

AFAIC theres been no upgrade improvements since 2010 if not before, despite many claims in the past they where coming.

Also, wish they would give up on Intels Puma chips.... been a problem for cable providers worldwide now, Virgins had issues with both 5th/6th gens that they have used.... this problem is same 4000 miles away in the US and Canada aswell as across Europe and Australia.... DOCSIS networks are bad enough for latency/jitter issues without the chipset adding a contribution.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 85
  • 1
  • 6
planetf1
Dialled in
632 Views
Message 42 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

20 downstream channels here (new network extension end/2016). Still only 2 (16 QAM) upstream

I suspect the segment is lightly loaded currently. they only started offering service about 10 weeks ago, and speed is pretty consistently maxed out. 

I'm on gamer 200 so get ~ 221/21

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 156
  • 3
  • 16
JitteryPinger
Up to speed
622 Views
Message 43 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

My network almost same as yours then, offers 16 downstream with no issues, and 2 16 QAM Upstream channels...#

However I'm seeing congestion on my upstream, have done for quiet sometime, but Virgin don't think its of a level that matters yet...

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.26K
  • 30
  • 199
jhuk
Knows their stuff
541 Views
Message 44 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

VM hinted at going back to 10/1 Ration so will not see 200/30 or 300/50.

I hope to be on at least 400 by year end and hope it will be 400/40 but the top tier always got a "boot to the balls" with the "double speed" upgrades from 100>120>152>200 where as some lower tier(s) got tripled like 20>60.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 156
  • 3
  • 16
JitteryPinger
Up to speed
534 Views
Message 45 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


jhuk wrote:

VM hinted at going back to 10/1 Ration so will not see 200/30 or 300/50.


Well thats dissapointing... suppose I'll give up with Virgin then.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.26K
  • 30
  • 199
jhuk
Knows their stuff
528 Views
Message 46 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Opps Ration meant Ratio lol

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 85
  • 1
  • 6
planetf1
Dialled in
504 Views
Message 47 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Are you sure it's upstream congestion rather than throttling? Are you on Vivid 200 gamer or above? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 156
  • 3
  • 16
JitteryPinger
Up to speed
501 Views
Message 48 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Yes I'm on 200 Gamer, I thought throttling was causing my issues too but seems like any use of upstream kills my connection.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.25K
  • 64
  • 221
Adduxi
Knows their stuff
486 Views
Message 49 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


MUD_Wizard wrote:

ILuvNips wrote:

Is there or would there be a massive difference between the current routers that can be set to modem mode and having a device which is only capable of modem mode?


No difference at all.


Muddy,

Not wanting to fall out or anything but .......

I would have thought a simple modem would be more simplistic in terms of both hardware and firmware.?  

Anyway, I would love VM to go back a few years (or more than a few) and allow users to buy their own modems, even if it was from a small set of approved models.   Smiley Happy

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 2.26K
  • 30
  • 199
jhuk
Knows their stuff
476 Views
Message 50 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

NTL/CableTel/Telewest now VM never let anyone use their own hardware outside of dial up.

Too many variables if someone calls up with a fault, is it their end or the ISP's end?

0 Kudos
Reply