Menu
Reply
  • 9.86K
  • 322
  • 852
legacy1
Hero
1,076 Views
Message 21 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


MUD_Wizard wrote:

 

Tell me which of these Virgin Hubs did NOT have modem mode? SH1, SH2, SH2ac, Hub3? I rest my case.

 


But their was a hub before SH1 that did not have modem mode the VMDG280.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.37K
  • 362
  • 2.31K
Superuser
Superuser
1,064 Views
Message 22 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


Ignition wrote:

MUD_Wizard wrote:

@Ignition maybe you can give us some insider whispers?


Indeed I can. What did you want to know?


Pilot deployments this year then means public trials in September/November?

Any hint which hub they're going to use?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.09K
  • 36
  • 591
Ignition
Trouble shooter
1,028 Views
Message 23 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Back end of the year and no idea respectively.

With regards to CPE whatever will be cheapest I imagine. After the farce with the Puma 6-based Arris this will likely be an Arris-built Puma 7-based piece of kit. Should be able to secure some nice discounts in recompense for the embarrassment and grief it's caused Liberty Global.

They may go for quality but I'm not aware of either VM or Liberty having any kind of form for spending more on better CPE.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.37K
  • 362
  • 2.31K
Superuser
Superuser
1,004 Views
Message 24 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


MUD_Wizard wrote:

 

Tell me which of these Virgin Hubs did NOT have modem mode? SH1, SH2, SH2ac, Hub3? I rest my case.

legacy1 wrote:

But their was a hub before SH1 that did not have modem mode the VMDG280.

Actually the SB8200 that Comcast are supplying retail didn't have modem mode in the firmware back in January. It's being worked on. Not always good to get products too early. The Hitron also didn't have modem mode when it came out but now does. So while it's a possibility, it depends on the timing. It'll definitely be a requirement though.

No chance of us getting the SB8200 anyway, it's $160 retail and Liberty and VM buy around $50.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.37K
  • 362
  • 2.31K
Superuser
Superuser
1,010 Views
Message 25 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018


Ignition wrote: 


In places there are nodes with all 24 channels lit, I should make clear that the current VM platform can't deliver more than 24 channels in a single group so they can't spin up 32 and load balance, that are still experiencing capacity issues or will be in the not too distant. Selective deployment of 3.1 is a viable capacity relief option for these and will relieve the need for node splits.

Yeah well Comcast are doing 16 x SC-QAM channels + 1 OFDM channel.

Longer term VM do have to pursue a strategy of adding more 3.0 channels in areas that aren't maxed out, delivering 3.1 to relieve 3.0 of the heavier users, splitting nodes and upgrading HFC plant where there are RF capacity issues preventing addition of more 3.0 channels and a 3.1 OFDM block. Those are presented in order of cost.

Agreed.

There are some issues that I won't go into in public with regards to capacity planning. Liberty Global need to get their heads around that one size does not fit all and UK and Ireland customers have usage patterns and expectations that don't match those in Hungary or Romania.


Yeah I can imagine.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.09K
  • 36
  • 591
Ignition
Trouble shooter
955 Views
Message 26 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Comcast run with way more than 16 SC-QAMs. They've 24+ running in many places alongside 4 x 6.4 MHz wide upstreams crammed into the low split 5-42 MHz band.

They sell an 'Extreme' 300Mb tier. Selling that on 38 x 16 = 608 Mb of capacity is 'risky' given how intolerant the United States consumers are to visible contention and requires very small nodal areas.

See https://www.dslreports.com/forum/r29743167-Signals-Report-16-24-32-Downstream-Channel-Bonding-Here

Regarding VM's capacity issues there are problems both at hubsites and in some cases the access plant preventing addition of extra channels and problems preventing node splits.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.09K
  • 36
  • 591
Ignition
Trouble shooter
911 Views
Message 27 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

I've had more than a few drinks so am likely more amenable to requests for information I'd usually decline. What would you like to know?

If it's the meaning of life: 42.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.86K
  • 322
  • 852
legacy1
Hero
889 Views
Message 28 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Will I like this hub 4?and be part of the trial for it?

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.09K
  • 36
  • 591
Ignition
Trouble shooter
886 Views
Message 29 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

legacy1 wrote:
Will I like this hub 4?and be part of the trial for it?


No idea and hopefully not. Any issues you'll put down to whatever you've googled and are fixating on as you very clearly don't have any quality experience in the field thus obfuscating any investigation into any genuine issues.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 9.86K
  • 322
  • 852
legacy1
Hero
879 Views
Message 30 of 89
Flag for a moderator

Re: Docsis 3.1 deployment and Hub 4 - end of 2017 and 2018

Like SH2ac in router mode DHCP bug is not a bug its intended to cause what looks like a fault one of the reasons its not fixed.

0 Kudos
Reply