Menu
Reply
Tuning in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-03-2017
Message 1 of 9 (303 Views)

Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

Hi,

New to Virgin Media BB, and just wondered if you loose your speed if you shut down the router for a few days while your away ?

I am off for 4 weeks shortly and as such usually cut the power to everything except the Fridge / Freezer. Will this impact on my speeds with the router when I return ?

I only ask as when I was with BT, they basically suspend the service if the exchange can not connect to the router. Then you need an engineer to re-set the line !!

Any concrete advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance. 

Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Superuser
  • 7.75K
  • 475
  • 2.07K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 2 of 9 (588 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by romeo42822
‎01-03-2017 19:19

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

HFC (virgin) is different to ADSL, which is what you must have had before if your modem dropped speeds after being disconnected.

Your speeds should be the same before and after your hols.

 


See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Knows their stuff
  • 1.07K
  • 78
  • 201
Registered: ‎15-03-2012
Message 3 of 9 (588 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by romeo42822
‎01-03-2017 19:19

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

No unlike BT the virgin connection doesn't train. You might get a different ip, but thats about it.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Superuser
  • 6.05K
  • 343
  • 981
Registered: ‎05-01-2011
Message 8 of 9 (332 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by romeo42822
‎04-03-2017 17:59

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

4 Weeks could cause the modem to be placed into the walled garden and deactivated. I do believe that if a device is not seen on the network for some time it is deactivated for security reasons. If that is the case then a quick call when back should get it back online.


200Mb(SH2 SH2AC Hub 3.0), 2 X V6 TV XL, Phone M. 100Mb Business (Hitron Hub).

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Superfast
  • 443
  • 61
  • 132
Registered: ‎18-02-2017
Message 9 of 9 (267 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by romeo42822
‎05-03-2017 19:23

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

I just wanted to reply to confirm - Although this has already been said.

Virgin Media (cable) internet services work completely different to ADSL services (from the likes of BT, TalkTalk, Plusnet, etc).

You won't experience a reduction in your internet speed for restarting, or leaving your Virgin Media router powered off.

-

If I have helped please feel free to give 'Kudos' by clicking on the thumbs up icon against any of my posts. If I have helped to solve an issue you can also click on the 'Mark As Helpful Answer' link to mark it as helpful.

See where this Helpful Answer was posted


All Replies
Superuser
  • 7.75K
  • 475
  • 2.07K
Registered: ‎10-07-2014
Message 2 of 9 (589 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by romeo42822
‎01-03-2017 19:19

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

HFC (virgin) is different to ADSL, which is what you must have had before if your modem dropped speeds after being disconnected.

Your speeds should be the same before and after your hols.

 


Knows their stuff
  • 1.07K
  • 78
  • 201
Registered: ‎15-03-2012
Message 3 of 9 (589 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by romeo42822
‎01-03-2017 19:19

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

No unlike BT the virgin connection doesn't train. You might get a different ip, but thats about it.

Tuning in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-03-2017
Message 4 of 9 (292 Views)

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

Cheers Kippies for the quick reply !
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-03-2017
Message 5 of 9 (291 Views)

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

Cheers stevedh2 for the info and lightening response.
Reply
0 Kudos
Fibre optic
  • 362
  • 15
  • 81
Registered: ‎08-09-2015
Message 6 of 9 (278 Views)

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

Enjoy your 4 weeks away Smiley Happy



Running ASUS RT-AC88U with Asuswrt-Merlin firmware
Tuning in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-03-2017
Message 7 of 9 (219 Views)

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

Cheers pyrotenax Smiley Happy

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 6.05K
  • 343
  • 981
Registered: ‎05-01-2011
Message 8 of 9 (333 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by romeo42822
‎04-03-2017 17:59

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

4 Weeks could cause the modem to be placed into the walled garden and deactivated. I do believe that if a device is not seen on the network for some time it is deactivated for security reasons. If that is the case then a quick call when back should get it back online.


200Mb(SH2 SH2AC Hub 3.0), 2 X V6 TV XL, Phone M. 100Mb Business (Hitron Hub).
Superfast
  • 443
  • 61
  • 132
Registered: ‎18-02-2017
Message 9 of 9 (268 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by romeo42822
‎05-03-2017 19:23

Re: Do you loose speed if turning off your Virgin Hub?

I just wanted to reply to confirm - Although this has already been said.

Virgin Media (cable) internet services work completely different to ADSL services (from the likes of BT, TalkTalk, Plusnet, etc).

You won't experience a reduction in your internet speed for restarting, or leaving your Virgin Media router powered off.

-

If I have helped please feel free to give 'Kudos' by clicking on the thumbs up icon against any of my posts. If I have helped to solve an issue you can also click on the 'Mark As Helpful Answer' link to mark it as helpful.