TV

Check your service statusCable National
Ask a question
Reply
One to Watch
punk16uk
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-02-2011

setting up vm on my new tv

so i just bought a toshiba 32kv500b :smileyvery-happy:

 

can anyone tell me whether or not i can set this up with my current virgin media equipment or whether i'll need to buy a hdmi cable? 

 

all i have now is a scart cable, and for the life of me i cant set it up with that :smileysad: i dont know whether the TV has a scart input :/

Please use plain text.
The Sorter
chops
Posts: 678
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: setting up vm on my new tv

It should work with the scart lead plugged into the back of the TV.

 

If you want a better picture though you should use a HDMI lead to connect it to the virgin box and have the box enabled for HD.

Please use plain text.
One to Watch
punk16uk
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-02-2011

Re: setting up vm on my new tv

i've plugged the scart lead into the back of the tv of course

however, ive no idea how to get the source to the scart on that particular tv

 

im under the impression that the scart may just be an output rather than an input

 

otherwise, has anyone else got a toshiba tv, and how do you work your vm box with it?

Please use plain text.
Good to Know
kettle
Posts: 348
Registered: ‎23-07-2010

Re: setting up vm on my new tv

As chops said, connect the scart out from the vm box to the scart on the tv, the scart on the tv is input. On the tv remote use the "source" button to select "EXT-1", don't select "EXT-1 S". Should work.
Please use plain text.
Mythical
jb66
Posts: 6,585
Registered: ‎08-03-2010

Re: setting up vm on my new tv

Also make sure it's in the tv scart of the box
No longer registered
Please use plain text.
One to Watch
punk16uk
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-02-2011

Re: setting up vm on my new tv

wow thanks a lot

 

i feel pretty stupid admitting it just wasnt plugged into the box properly

 

i had a feeling it should have been easy to figure out, although i think it was half in/half out so it wasnt recognising it

 

thanks for replies guys

Please use plain text.
The Sorter
chops
Posts: 678
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Re: setting up vm on my new tv

[ Edited ]

Deleted as now all OK.

Please use plain text.