Menu
Reply
Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 1 of 8 (332 Views)

Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

Hello All,

does anyone know how to remove subtitles from TV Anywhere?

Thanks
Reply
0 Kudos

Accepted Solutions
Rising star
  • 536
  • 50
  • 101
Registered: ‎24-11-2015
Message 2 of 8 (644 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by linssuk
‎19-03-2017 12:38

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

Sounds like they are turned on on your box

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Reply
0 Kudos
Rising star
  • 536
  • 50
  • 101
Registered: ‎24-11-2015
Message 4 of 8 (624 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by linssuk
‎19-03-2017 12:43

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

No because it will mirror what your box is doing

See where this Helpful Answer was posted

Reply
0 Kudos

All Replies
Rising star
  • 536
  • 50
  • 101
Registered: ‎24-11-2015
Message 2 of 8 (645 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by linssuk
‎19-03-2017 12:38

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

Sounds like they are turned on on your box
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 3 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

Yes this is what I thought but not at home to take it off! Any idea if this is possible from app please?
Reply
0 Kudos
Rising star
  • 536
  • 50
  • 101
Registered: ‎24-11-2015
Message 4 of 8 (625 Views)
Helpful Answer
confirmed by linssuk
‎19-03-2017 12:43

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

No because it will mirror what your box is doing
Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 16.46K
  • 1.46K
  • 2.71K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 5 of 8 (300 Views)

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

[ Edited ]

Not if you're not at home it won't be. You can't stream from a V6 box outside of Home, so it's either downloaded shows on iOS or Live TV on Android.

If this on the iPad or iPhone for a show that's been downloaded from the V6 then there is a subtitle option in the play controls at the bottom of the screen.

On Android devices when streaming live TV the subtitle option is in the top of the screen when it tells you the title of the show. It looks like an empty speech bubble.

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 13
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2011
Message 6 of 8 (265 Views)

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

I have the very same issue on my android phone.  Subtitles are turn off on the virgin box but every time I try the app the video has subtitles on, making it unwatchable.  Mind you, at least it works on my phone, my iPad it does work at all even though I registered twice.  I am not very impresses with the quality of the apps.  They seem very very temperamental to the point I would say they are unusable as a service.

Reply
0 Kudos
Forum Team
  • 18.61K
  • 681
  • 1.39K
Registered: ‎14-05-2013
Message 7 of 8 (224 Views)

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

Hi steven_davies, 

 

Thanks for coming to us here via the forums and apologies for the issues you are having playing TV Anywhere. If we look at the subtitle options first of all, when you're getting these on your Android phone are you able to switch them off using BenMcr's instructions above? 

 

'On Android devices when streaming live TV the subtitle option is in the top of the screen when it tells you the title of the show. It looks like an empty speech bubble.'

 

With regards to the iPad, I have gone in to the account and added a device change. Using a PC/Laptop go to anywhere.virginmedia.com > My Profile > Device Settings. Remove the current registration by clicking on the Delete button. Once you've done this, using the device you are trying to re-register, open up TV Anywhere and log in. Try to stream Channel 4 and this should then prompt you to register the device.

 

Come back and let me know to see how it goes. 

 

Thanks,

Kath_F
Forum Team

Tech fan? Have you read our Digital life blog yet? Check it out



Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎19-03-2017
Message 8 of 8 (175 Views)

Re: Subtitles Virgin Anywhere

Hello, we are on android via a Samsung tablet, no speech bubble on screen near title and it is only on the Bt sport 1 channel we think
Reply
0 Kudos