Menu
Reply
Tuning in
  • 7
  • 0
  • 1
Registered: ‎02-08-2016
Message 11 of 20 (1,118 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

Thanks for the advice. I could not get the password to work at instructed on the Virgin help page, nor as instructed by Virgin when I telephoned them. The password is supposed to be one of those printed on a little card which is slotted into the Hub 3 itself. However you were quite right. The password which is needed is actually the third one which is printed on the underside of the hub, but is not printed on the little card. Sorry for not having followed your instructions to the letter!   Why on earth does Virgin not put the correct instructions on its site, and why does it not instruct its telephone advisors correctly?!   Anyway, thanks again for your vital help.

Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-03-2017
Message 12 of 20 (1,024 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

Why they don't give the one important bit of info. you need (how to disable wireless) in the installation leaflet and why they make the only important password the hardest to access (by only putting it on the bottom of the router), is beyond me. When I asked the helpline how to disable wireless, he just hung-up on me.

Reply
0 Kudos
Superuser
  • 16.91K
  • 1.52K
  • 2.86K
Registered: ‎11-08-2009
Message 13 of 20 (1,004 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

[ Edited ]

Most people getting the Hub 3.0 would expect it does wireless. So it's not needed to be in the install leaflet how to disable the WiFi signal.

If you do need to do so, the instructions to disable wireless are in the help site here https://help.virginmedia.com/system/templates/selfservice/vm/help/customer/locale/en-GB/portal/20030...

**********************************
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-03-2017
Message 14 of 20 (990 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

We have a teenage son and, if wireless was enabled, he would be online with some device or other all through the night, even when he has school the next day. The easiest solution is to turn off the wireless, which is why we never asked for it in the first place.

Reply
0 Kudos
Knows their stuff
  • 1.18K
  • 86
  • 224
Registered: ‎15-03-2012
Message 15 of 20 (987 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

Just change the wifi key and don't tell him..

Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-03-2017
Message 16 of 20 (944 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

Well, it didn't take long for hackers to find how to access your Virgin Media Super Hub2, we'll see how long before they can hack this one.

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
  • 20.2K
  • 518
  • 3.08K
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 17 of 20 (940 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.


nevillestyke wrote:

Well, it didn't take long for hackers to find how to access your Virgin Media Super Hub2, we'll see how long before they can hack this one.

 


Can you please explain more?  It's not clear what has actually happened.

 

 

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎06-03-2017
Message 18 of 20 (923 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

Reply
0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
  • 20.2K
  • 518
  • 3.08K
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 19 of 20 (920 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

That article is 3 years old. The current Hub 3 does not have a common default password.

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

Reply
0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
  • 20.2K
  • 518
  • 3.08K
Registered: ‎01-09-2009
Message 20 of 20 (913 Views)

Re: Virgin Media Hub 3.0 - can I totally disable WiFi.

Actually, on rereading yours a couple of posts back, I see what you mean. Not long after the SH2 appeared, the hacking method was found.

The Hub 3 has been around for more than a year; I've had mine for about 14 months. So we might indeed see how long it takes for the Hub 3 to be cracked.

Seph - ( DEFROCKED - My advice is at your risk)

Reply
0 Kudos