Menu
Reply
On our wavelength
  • 23
  • 0
  • 3
Registered: ‎22-03-2014
Message 11 of 19 (1,852 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

Change your Hub passwords and put him on the guest account (rename it as well) Teens network or something. This can be turned off or on at your will. It dont thing this helps with wire networks but what teen would be seen with a wired network Smiley Wink i dont think they know what a corded phone is Smiley Happy

Reply
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 21
  • 0
  • 4
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 12 of 19 (1,718 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

@Shelke - thanks for this guide

Took me about a million tries but I got there in the end. My notes:

Firstly I found it more reliable to manually enter the MAC address of each device I wanted to reserve (instead of using the check boxes I literally typed the MAC address in myself).

I found the superhub needs to reset itself evey time you reserve an IP address. Just wait to be kicked back to the password screen.

I found using the simple slider to set times did not work, but the option to choose different times on different days of the week worked (exactly as stated in your guide).

 

@Virgin: your superhub is so bad guys. You need to get a firmware update out there and at least kill the functionality that doesn't work. I'm assuming you're not actually going to fix it :-(

Tuning in
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎01-06-2017
Message 13 of 19 (1,144 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

Much easier is this ..
'wifi blocker' app on Apple Store.
It works great with the hub3. We use it in our house .. you can hear it works with out 13yr old screams when she's blocked lol.
Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎11-08-2017
Message 14 of 19 (691 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

Didn't work. About time Virgin sorted it out. If you can do it on older hubs you should be able to do it on this one!! Get with it Virgin!
Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎22-05-2017
Message 15 of 19 (475 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

I thought that was the answer. But, unfortunately, it doesn't work.

Apparently it's one of the bugs on the new Superhub 3. If it's used it causes other features not to work.

According to Virgin, they are working on the firmware but have no idea when it will be sorted!

 

Reply
0 Kudos
Joining in
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎22-05-2017
Message 16 of 19 (471 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

That sounds good. Do they do one for Android?

Reply
0 Kudos
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎11-08-2017
Message 17 of 19 (456 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

I was wondering the same as I have Android. I tried setting it through IP filtering and it did kind of work but did everything an hour on from the times I set it at. Weird. It's hard work to do such a simple thing.
Reply
0 Kudos
On our wavelength
  • 21
  • 0
  • 4
Registered: ‎11-02-2012
Message 18 of 19 (317 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

Hopefully my last posting here.

 

Just to say I have switched to BT and their parental controls including setting access time limits per device are absolutely perfect: very intuitive and.... they work. 

 

I have no expectation that Virgin will pay any attention as my understanding is that their access restrictions have never worked, certainly not in the last couple of years. But would be good if they would take a leaf out of BT's book. Many other aspects of the BT smarthub are better too.

 

Good luck to those who remain.

Highlighted
Tuning in
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Registered: ‎11-08-2017
Message 19 of 19 (306 Views)

Re: Set internet time limit for child

I've considered changing providers to be honest as virgin like taking customers money but make very little or no improvement. Thanks for all the info.
Reply
0 Kudos