Menu
Elephant890
Joining in
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Kids bypassing child safe by altering dns

Hi there. After help pls, and as simple as poss as I'm a tech dummy!
Git virgin 3.0 hub. Logged in. Changed passwords. All family devices a reconnected. Now kids change dns settings on iphone and iPads to 8.8.8.8, they don't even have to re enter a password and straight away they can bypass child safe. When they set it back, again they don't need to re enter password for wifi so they can switch back and to as and when they chose.
Any suggestions at either device level or (preferably) router level that I can. Implement to preens them being able to change dns so that in effect they are forced down channel if being blocked??! Thank you!
0 Kudos
Adduxi
Knows their stuff
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Kids bypassing child safe by altering dns

Sounds like you will have to implement some sort of Parental Controls on the iPhones and iPads. ?

This would, I assume as I don't have any Apple products, stop unauthorised changes to DNS on the local devices.

0 Kudos
Elephant890
Joining in
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

There is an option on iPhones for restrictions but it doesn't prevent changes to wifi. And for a few reasons I was hoping just t be able to do it at router level to block them all in one go as they are always swapping and changing gadgets, plus friends gadgets etc. So thought router level would mean all done in one. Thanks for the reply.
0 Kudos
Adduxi
Knows their stuff
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

If the DNS settings are changed on the local device, e.g. iPad, any DNS settings on the Router will be ignored.

Local DNS has priority over the DNS settings in the Router.

Superuser
Superuser
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

If they know enough to change DNS settings to route round your block, they likely know enough to use other means. Blocking it at router OR device level is unlikely to work.